Network Highlights


Follow SBS

Policies & Publications

SBS Codes of Practice 2014

SBS is an independent national broadcaster operating under the Special Broadcasting Service Act 1991 (Cth) (SBS Act). SBS is required to develop codes of practice relating to programming matters and to notify those codes with the Australian Communications and Media Authority.  

The SBS Codes of Practice set out the principles and policies SBS uses to guide its programming. They embrace the principal Charter function of SBS: ' provide multilingual and multicultural radio, television and digital media services that inform, educate and entertain all Australians, and, in doing so, reflect Australia's multicultural society'.

SBS revised its Codes of Practice in 2014 (read the Media Release - click here). The 2014 Codes of Practice came into effect on Monday 3 March 2014. The Television Classification Code was amended on 1 February 2015.

Changes to the Television Classification Code
From 1 February 2015 PG programming can be broadcast on SBS ONE at any time. This amendment brings the classification time zones on SBS ONE into line with SBS's multichannels (SBS 2 and NITV). The PG classification indicates that parental guidance is recommended for people under 15 years.

The 2014 Codes of Practice include a revised Television Classification Code (Code 4). From 3 March 2014 programs classified MA15+ can be broadcast from 8.30pm. SBS advises that programs classified MA15+ are not suitable for viewers under the age of 15.

You can control how your household accesses television content by using the parental lock on your television, set-top box or personal video recorder.

How to obtain a copy of the SBS Codes of Practice
The SBS Codes of Practice 2014 (as at 1 February 2015) are available as a PDF document - click here.

Copies of the SBS Codes of Practice can be obtained from SBS by:
- telephoning 1800 500 727 (TTY via NRS - call 1800 555 677 and ask for 1800 500 727)
- writing to SBS at or Locked Bag 028 Crows Nest NSW 1585

Superceded versions
SBS Codes of Practice 2014 (as at 3 March 2014) - click here (PDF)
SBS Codes of Practice 2006 (as at 1 December 2012) - click here (PDF)