• Porte has been in the shadow of Froome in the past... (Getty) (Getty Images)
The Critérium du Dauphiné will be shown on SBS from 4 - 11 June. The eight stage race is the traditional warm-up for the Tour de France and is often where the riders that are in contention to win the yellow jersey in July show their true form.
Cycling Central

17 Mar 2017 - 11:40 AM  UPDATED 17 Mar 2017 - 11:46 AM

In four of the last five seasons the Criterium du Dauphine winner has then gone on to win the Tour de France. There should be little change to that formula this season as the race will again visit the high mountains for the final three stages, including the famed climb of the Alpe d'Huez.

The first five stages will act as the table-setting for the final three days in the mountains with opportunities for both sprinters and attackers to shine before the spotlight falls upon the climbers.

The 2017 edition of the race will continue the tradition of being an important opportunity for reconnaissance ahead of the Tour de France. he monstrously tough Mont du Chat, which hasn't appeared in the Tour de France since 1974 will be part of both Stage 6 of the Dauphine and Stage 9 of the Tour de France.

The centrepiece of the race will be Stage 7 which finishes atop the Alpe d'Huez. The approach to the famed summit comes via the Col de Sarenne and will then ascend the final few kilometres of the Alpe d'Huez before the finish line.  


Criterium du Dauphine 2017

Sunday, 4 June. Stage 1: Saint-Étienne - Saint-Étienne (170 km)
Monday, 5 June. Stage 2: Saint-Chamond - Arlanc (171 km)
Tuesday, 6 June. Stage 3: Le Chambon-sur-Lignon - Tullins (184 km)
Wednesday, 7 June. Stage 4: La Tour-du-Pin - Bourgoin-Jallieu (23.5 TT)
Thursday, 8 June. Stage 5: La Tour-de-Salvagny - Mâcon (175 km)
Friday, 9 June. Stage 6: Parc des Oiseaux Villars-les-Dombes - La Motte-Servolex (145.5 km)
Saturday, 10 June. Stage 7: Aosta - Alpe d'Huez (167.5 km)
Sunday, 11 June. Stage 8: Albertville - Plateau de Solaison (115 km)