Orica-GreenEDGE announces Tour team

Road,Aus,Orica,GreenEDGE,Tour de France,FRA
Recent performances won Caneron Meyer selection for the Tour de France (Sorotti)

Orica-GreenEDGE has named its team for the Tour de France with recent performances winning Cameron Meyer a spot on the nine-man squad.

The line-up includes six riders who raced the Australian outfit’s inaugural Grand Boucle alongside three riders making their Tour de France debut.

“The team objective this year is to win a stage at the Tour de France,” said Sport Director Matt White.

“That’s our main goal. We’re bringing a more diverse team this year to give us a few more options for intermediate stages and days in the medium mountains. The sprint stages remain a big focus, and we bring a dedicated sprint train to support Matt Goss on the flatter days.”

“Last year, we brought together a group of riders who hadn’t raced together much before the Tour de France,” noted White. “This year, we have six who raced the Tour together last year and five who recently worked together at the Tour de Suisse. This is a group of riders that have learned to work together seamlessly.”

The team will be captained by Stuart O’Grady, who has appeared in every Tour de France since he made his debut in 1997. With 16 Tour de France starts, 14 finishes, two stage wins and nine days in yellow to his name, O’Grady is the most experienced Grand Tour rider in the professional peloton. The South Australian equals the record set by George Hincapie for most Tour de France starts when he lines up for his 17th Tour de France this year.

Western Australian Meyer recently finished tenth in the Tour de Suisse overall after winning the stage one time trial and spending two days in yellow. Meyer has four Grand Tour starts and two finishes to his name. This will be his first Tour de France.

“We haven’t previously had anyone for the high mountain stages,” said White. “With the form he showed us last week in Switzerland, we realise that Cam gives us an option. He can climb with a very select group of riders, and that opens us up to opportunities on stages that we’ve been forced to overlook in the past.”

Matt Goss is the team’s designated leader for the sprint stages. The Tasmanian gave ORICA-GreenEDGE its first Grand Tour win last year at the Giro d’Italia. He came close to repeating the feat at the Tour, where he sprinted to five stage podiums. Lining up for his fourth Tour de France start, Goss is firmly focused on pulling off a stage win in the sprints.

Orica-GreenEDGE for the 2013 Tour de France:
Stuart O’Grady (AUS), Matt Goss (AUS), Daryl Impey (RSA), Brett Lancaster (AUS), Svein Tuft (CAN), Simon Gerrans (AUS), Michael Albasini (SUI), Simon Clarke (AUS) and Cameron Meyer (AUS).

SBS will broadcast all stages of the Tour de France live.

cycling central-latest /Videos


The latest on cycling central


On SBS TV & Radio