Bos makes it three at Langkawi

cycling, Malaysia, Tour de Langkawi, Theo Bos, Belkin
Theo Bos (L) was again too good for his Tour de Langkawi sprint rivals (TDL)

Theo Bos collected his third Tour de Langkawi victory after winning another bunch sprint to take the 202.2km 8th stage from Kuantan to Marang.

The Belkin sprinter beat Astana’s Andrea Guardini and Androni-Venezuela's Kenny van Hummel after avoiding a crash involving 1.5km from the finish.

"It's a good feeling to have won my third stage this year to equal our record of three wins last year, that was our target,” said Bos.

Morgan Lamoisson (Europcar), Choon Huat Goh (OCBC Singapore), Elchin Asadov (Synergy Baku) and Zhi Hui Jiang (Giant Champion System) were the four riders making the break of the day, riding out to a lead of over four minutes.

The quartet’s time at the front of the race ended with just 10km to go after a Belkin led peloton had done the work to bring them back.

Belkin’s Jack Bobridge, Steven Kruijswijk and Dennis van Winden continued to drive the peloton to the finish before handing over to lead out man Graeme Brown, who left Bos with only 150 meters to ride himself.

"The last kilometre went exactly as planned,” said Bos. "I was lucky I was able to stay on my bike although I was touched by some riders when the crash happened, but I was able to stay on my bike.

“I had a good lead-out from Gaeme Brown and again was in a good position to sprint for the win.

"We have two more stages which are flat and we have the opportunity to look for more wins, so we will see how it goes."

For the second place Guardini is was a missed opportunity to add another victory to his Langkawi career tally.

“It was a sprint and a half today. first before the final left turn to get into position, then for the finish,” said Guardini.

“I got into fourth position at the first one, then tried to pass riders for the victory at the end but Bos was already gone.

“After two days of 200 plus kilometers today’s race was only 250 metres long, but it was a long 250 meters”

The crash also involved general classification leader Mirsamad Pourseyedigolakhour (Tabriz Petrochemical), but the Iranian's overall lead remained unaffected as the crash happened inside the final 3km.

Pourseyedigolakhour has two more days to go to emerge the first ever Asian winner of the Tour de Langkawi overall title.

One jersey winner could be confirmed after tomorrow's 111.1km Stage 9 from Bandar Permaisuri to Kuala Terengganu which offers the final two categorised climbs of this year's race.

Synergy-Baku's Matt Brammeier is the only jersey holder that remains from Stage 1 and will seal the victory in the mountains classification should he remain in the lead after the stage.

Brammeier has 34 points, leading UnitedHealthcare's Isaac Bolivar by just three points and Pourseyedigolakhour is nine points adrift as the mountains classification battle comes to an end

Aidis Kroupis of the Orica-GreenEDGE team remained in the points classification lead, just two points ahead of Michael Kolar of Tinkoff-Saxo and nine ahead of Bos.

Stage 8: 202.6km, Kuantan to Marang
1 Theo Bos (NED) Belkin 5hr 01min 58sec     
2 Andrea Guardini (ITA) Astana          
3 Kenny Van Hummel (NED) Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela           
4 Michael Kolar (SVK) Tinkoff-Saxo           
5 Robert Forster (GER) UnitedHealthcare          
6 Aidis Kruopis (LTU) Orica-GreenEDGE           
7 Daniel Klemme (GER) Synergy Baku          
8 Yannick Martinez (FRA) Europcar           
9 Francesco Chicchi (ITA) Yellow Fluo           
10 Omar Bertazzo (ITA) Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela       

General classification
1 Mirsamad Pourseyedigolakhour (IRI) Tabriz 30hr 19min 00sec     
2 Merhawi Kudus (ERI) MTN-Qhubeka 0:00:08     
3 Isaac Bolivar (COL) UnitedHealthcare 0:00:11     
4 Esteban Chaves (COL) Orica GreenEDGE 0:00:20     
5 Petr Ignatenko (RUS) Katusha 0:00:36     
6 Jacques J.V. Rensburg (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka 0:00:40     
7 Steven Kruijswijk (NED) Belkin 0:00:52     
8 Gianfranco Zilioli (ITA) Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela 0:01:09     
9 Ghaffari Vahid (IRI) Tabriz 0:01:27     
10 Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka 0:01:41          

cycling central-latest /Videos


The latest on cycling central


On SBS TV & Radio