Joseph Calleja: Amore (CD / iTunes Digital Download)

Joseph Calleja’s new recording, Amore, is set to steal listeners’ hearts with its sheer romance. Read More

Joseph Calleja: Amore
Product details
  • Album
    Product Type:
  • 1
  • Genre:
  • CD, Digital Download
  • Jewel
  • 8th November 2013
    Release Date:
  • Digital Download
    Buy it now
  • (Click for price)


Get it on Google Play

Joseph sings his most popular programme yet, and one inspired by romance; beautiful Italian and Mediterranean songs with a contemporary twist. The Maltese tenor evokes the golden era of Mediterranean song connecting with the great legacy of songs performed and recorded by, among others, Gigli, Schipa and the legendary Enrico Caruso.

Calleja's "golden voice" takes us through repertoire such as La Serenata and Barcarolle, to cinema classics by Morricone, Time To Say Goodbye / Con ti Partiro (made famous by Andrea Bocelli), and di Capua's perennial O Sole Mio to round off a captivating programme of compositions known and loved by millions worldwide. The album also features three duets with Nicola Benedetti including Mattinata, which they performed together at the UK Last Night of the Proms 2012.

Calleja’s sublime artistry combined with sumptuous new orchestral arrangements enhance the beguiling attraction of Amore. This emotive, engaging album – featuring songs in six languages – is sure to speak to a massive audience, with sensational melodies and Joseph’s charismatic, heartfelt singing.

At just 35 years of age, Joseph Calleja is one of the most sought-after young tenors on both sides of the Atlantic. Winner of Gramophone’s Artist of the Year in 2012, his voice regularly inspires comparisons to “legendary singers from earlier eras: Jussi Björling, Beniamino Gigli, even Enrico Caruso” - Associated Press.

Track listing:

01. La Serenata (Tosti)
02. Besame Mucho (Velásquez trans. Mercurio)
03. Time to Say Goodbye [Con te partirò] (Sartor)
04. Caruso (Dalla)
05. La Vie en Rose (Louiguy)
06. Love Theme from 'Cinema Paradiso' (Morricone)
07. En Aranjuez con tu amor (Rodrigo) with Nicola Benedetti (Violin)
08. You Raise Me Up (Løvland)
09. La Califfa (Morricone)
10. Mattinata (Leoncavallo) with Nicola Benedetti (Violin)
11. Ideale (Tosti)
12. Musica Proibita (Gastaldon)
13. Core n'grato (Cardillo)
14. Non ti scordar di me (De Curtis)
15. No puede ser [from 'La Taberna del Puerto'] (Sorozábal)
16. Vaghissima sembianza (Donauldy)
17. Net, tolko tot, kto znal [None but the Lonely Heart] (Tchaikovsky)
18. In mir klingt ein Lied (Chopin arr. Kuhn/Kneifel trans. Bateman)
19. O Sole Mio (Di Capua.)

Barcode: 0028947853404

Product Reviews (1)

27 Nov 2013 4:29 AEST
Audrey moir
from: Camberwell


Was this useful? Useful(0 people agree)
Not useful(0 people disagree)

Add a Review

  • This is a captcha-picture. It is used to prevent mass-access by robots.

PLEASE NOTE: All submitted comments become the property of SBS. We reserve the right to edit and/or amend submitted comments. HTML tags other than paragraph, line break, bold or italics will be removed from your comment.