SBS announces Australia's 2017 Eurovision Jury members

Monday, 1 May 2017

News Release

SBS announce Australia’s 2017 Eurovision Jury members

Plus – Lee Lin Chin returns as Australia’s Eurovision spokesperson

Order! Order! The Australian Eurovision Jury has been called to duty.

The Eurovision Song Contest voting procedure is legendary – and nearly as eccentric as the performances.

Viewers in countries of participating broadcasters, including Australia, are invited to vote for their favourite songs in the Eurovision Semi-finals and Grand Final by televoting, which makes up 50% of the total vote.

The other 50% of the vote is decided by a National Jury in each participating country. Each jury comprises of a team of respected local music/entertainment figures with extensive experience in the industry and, of course, a passion for the world’s biggest song contest.*

So without further ado, it’s time to meet Australia’s 2017 Eurovision Jury, charged with finding the performers guilty of pop perfection:

Lucy Durack
Lucy is one of Australia's leading ladies of the stage, with a list of major roles to her credit. She has won awards for her roles of Glinda in Wicked and Elle Woods in Legally Blonde the Musical. She performs regularly in concert and has a popular radio show ‘My Soundtrack’ on the ABC.

Jordan Raskopoulos
Jordan is a comedian, musician and digital content creator. She is best known as the lead singer of The Axis of Awesome, a world-renowned musical comedy group and YouTube Juggernaut. Jordan also hosts ‘This is About’, a narrative non-fiction podcast on ABC.

Steven Capaldo
Steven is a conductor and music educator working with symphony orchestras, wind orchestras, chamber ensembles and in community music and education. He is an active composer and arranger. His works have been performed and recorded in Australia, Canada and the U.S.A.

Jackie Loeb
Jackie maintains her reputation as a stand-up comedian, while distinguishing herself as an actor, musician and writer. She has performed cabaret shows at New York City’s ‘Don’t Tell Mama’ and had a sell-out season at the Adelaide Cabaret Festival. She has released two albums, and brings her latest stand-up show Forty-five to the Sydney Comedy Festival this week.

Peter Hayward
Peter has been working professionally in the entertainment industry for over 15 years. He has performed as a Music Director across Sydney and as a backing vocalist and percussionist for numerous live events. Peter is Creative Director of Southern Stars - The Arena Spectacular and Associate Director of the Schools Spectacular.


In each Semi-Final, 10 contestants are chosen to qualify for the Grand Final. As per the official Eurovision rules, viewers in all countries taking part in a particular Semi-Final are invited to vote via the official app, telephone and/or SMS. Australian viewers are eligible to vote in Semi Final 1 (in which Australia’s Isaiah will perform) as well as The Grand Final. The voting window for Semi Final 1 and the Grand Final opens after the last song has been performed, and ends 15 minutes later. 

For Australian viewers, this means they will need to tune into the LIVE broadcasts of Semi Final 1 Wednesday 10 May, 5am (AEST) and the Grand Final Sunday 14 May, 5am (AEST) and text or call the numbers that appear on screen during these live broadcasts.

Jury members and public voters can’t vote for their own country, but there are plenty of other outstanding acts alongside our Australian hopeful Isaiah.

Will voters embrace Italy and their dancing gorilla, or will they be wooed by Romania’s yodelling? Will the Swede’s slick choreography win them over, or will the Aussie performing for Denmark, Anja Nissen, take the prize?


SBS World News presenter and TV icon Lee Lin Chin will once again resume her essential role as Australia’s Eurovision Spokesperson. The inimitable newsreader will once again present Australia’s allocation of points with her spot on pronunciation and one off legendary fab outfits.

The Eurovision Song Contest is May 12 - 14, 7.30pm on SBS, with live early morning broadcasts from May 10, 5am.

For those that can’t get enough Eurovision, Myf Warhurst and Joel Creasey will present the Top 40 songs from Eurovision’s 60 year history as voted by Australian fans in the Eurovision Top 40 Songs special at 8.30pm, Wednesday 10 May on SBS.

* The Eurovision Jury was selected by SBS and had to meet the criteria set out by the EBU.