Simon Gerrans will be the point man for the  2014 UCI Road World Championships after Cycling Australia announcing its final team selections for the 21-28 September event.
Cycling Central

7 Apr 2015 - 5:20 PM  UPDATED 13 Apr 2015 - 3:34 PM

The Australian champion, fresh off a pair of weekend World Tour victories in Canada will also have 2011 Tour de France champion Cadel Evans (BMC) riding alongside in Ponferrada, Spain.

The team was deepened further with the inclusion of Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana stage winner Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE) and Australia's best finisher in 2013, Somon Clarke (Orica-GreenEDGE).

Also lining up are Rohan Dennis (BMC), Adam Hansen, Heinrich Haussler (IAM), Mat Hayman and Rory Sutherland (Tinkoff-Saxo). Dennis will also ride the time trial.

The women will be hoping to repeat or better Rachel Neylan's 2012 world championship silver medal with a team made up of Neylan, Tiffany Cromwell, Katrin Garfoot, Loren Rowney, Carlee Taylor and Lizzie Williams.

Rising stars Caleb Ewan and Robert Power will lead Alexander Clements, Campbell Flakemore, Jack Haig and Samuel Spokes in the under 23 races, with Flakemore doing double duty in the time trial.

Elite Men
Simon Clarke (VIC / Orica-GreenEDGE)
Rohan Dennis (SA / BMC) Road Race and Time Trial
Cadel Evans (VIC / BMC)
Simon Gerrans (VIC / Orica-GreenEDGE)
Adam Hansen (QLD / Lotto-Belisol)
Heinrich Haussler (NSW / IAM Cycling)
Matt Hayman (NSW / Orica-GreenEDGE)
Michael Matthews (ACT / Orica-GreenEDGE)
Rory Sutherland (ACT / Tinkoff-Saxo)

Elite Women
Tiffany Cromwell (SA / Specialized-lululemon)
Katrin Garfoot (QLD / Orica-AIS) Road Race & Time Trial
Rachel Neylan (SA / Jayco-AIS)
Loren Rowney (QLD / Specialized-Lululemon)
Carlee Taylor (SA / Orica-AIS)
Lizzie Williams (VIC / Jayco-AIS/Specialized Securitor)

Under 23 Men
Alexander Clements (TAS / Jayco-AIS)
Caleb Ewan (NSW / Jayco-AIS)
Campbell Flakemore (TAS / Jayco-AIS / Avanti Racing) Road Race and Time Trial
Jack Haig (VIC / Jayco-AIS / Avanti Racing)
Robert Power (WA / Jayco-AIS)
Samuel Spokes (NSW / Etixx Sports Nutrition)

Under 19 Team Men's
Lucas Hamilton (VIC / Ararat District CC))
Jai Hindley (WA / Midland CC)
Michael Storer (WA / Midland CC)
James Thompson (QLD / Kangaroo Point CC)

Under 19 Team Women's
Anna-Leeza Hull (NSW / Northern Rivers CC)
Alexandra Manly (SA / Central District CC)
Macey Stewart (TAS / Mersey Valley CC)

The 2014 UCI Road World Championships will be held in Ponferrada, Spain, from 21-28 September 2014. The Championships consists of 12 events in the elite, under-23 and junior categories in the time trial, road race and team time trial.

The first five days of competition will be live-streamed on the Cycling Central website, while the final two days will be broadcast on SBS ONE and streamed online.