Andrea Guardini holds the record for the most Tour de Langkawi stage victories but the Italian fears Caleb Ewan may prevent him from adding to his tally this year.
Cycling Central

7 Apr 2015 - 5:20 PM  UPDATED 13 Apr 2015 - 3:35 PM

Guardini has won 14 stages of the Malaysian tour over four editions of the race, eclipsing Australian Graeme Brown's former record of nine victories.

"I'll never forget that I started my pro cycling career in Langkawi and I got my first victory on day one in Langkawi," said Guardini who will lead Astana for the 8-15 March race.

The 25 year old, who is currently racing at the Tour of Qatar, is wary of two young sprinters making their Langkawi debut.

"I'm very aware of the qualities of Caleb Ewan and Jakub Mareczko", said Guardini said of the two 20 year olds.

"I know Mareczko, he's from Brescia, not far from my hometown, he's already a very good sprinter. He has won two stages in Venezuela (at the Vuelta Tachira) in January."

Orica-GreenEDGE's Ewan won two stages of the Jayco Herald Sun Tour last week as well as finishing second at the Australian Championships.

"Winning is my reason to cycle. I'm excited to ride Le Tour de Langkawi as I know I'll have some opportunities to try and win a stage or more," said Ewan.

"I've heard a lot of good things about Malaysia and I've seen many pictures of sprints from this race. They look great!"

In addition to supporting Guardini Astana will bring 2014 Tour de l'Avenir winner Miguel Angel Lopez. The Colombian's cycling ability puts him in contention for the overall title with the race to be decided on the penultimate stage which finishes atop the famed Genting Highlands.

The UCI 2.HC race covers more than 1,000km of Malaysian road, beginning
on the island of Langkawi on 8 March and finishing in Kuala Lumpur on 15

Astana for the 2015 Tour de Langkawi: Andrea Guardini (ITA), Aleksandr Dyachenko (KAZ), Miguel Angel Lopez (COL), Daniil Fominkyh (KAZ), Maxat Ayazbayev (KAZ), Arman Kamyshev (KAZ).