Elisa Longo Borghini won the women's Tour of Flanders after a 30km solo breakaway.
Cycling Central

7 Apr 2015 - 5:20 PM  UPDATED 13 Apr 2015 - 3:36 PM

The Italian finished 43 seconds clear of the sprint for second place, which was won by her Wiggle Honda team-mate Jolien D'hoore ahead of Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv).

Longo Borghini broke clear just after the Kanarieberg, as she responded to an attack from Trixi Worrack (Velocio-SRAM). The experienced German was unable to hold on to the Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling rider's pace, and was soon back in the peloton, but Longo Borghini went on to build what was to become a winning lead.

"I saw that I got 30-35 seconds immediately, because I think the girls were just looking at me and thinking 'oh, she's crazy, she'll never come to the finish line,'" Longo Borghini laughed.

"Then my gap went up to 59 seconds, when I was on the last 7km and I saw I had one minute I though, for sure, I will win this race."

The early part of the race had seen several attempted breakaways, but none were substantial enough to stick for any length of time.

"When I attacked I was confident that I had my team-mates behind me, who would cover my shoulders, and I thought that if they catch me back then at least I've done some good work for Jolien and she can win the sprint," said Longo Borghini.

D'Hoore's second place sees her take the overall lead in the UCI Women's Road World Cup from Trofeo Binda winner Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) who could only manage eighth after pulling her foot out of the pedal in the sprint.


Ronde van Vlaanderen podium (l-r) Jolien D'Hoore, Elisa Longo Borghini, Anna van der Breggen

Women's Tour of Flanders
1 Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA) Wiggle Honda 3hr 50min 43sec
2 Jolien D`Hoore (BEL) Wiggle Honda 0:00:43
3 Anna Van Der Breggen (NED) Rabo Liv Women
4 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) Bigla Pro Cycling
5 Elena Cecchini (ITA) Lotto Soudal Ladies
6 Alena Amialiusik (BLR) Velocio - SRAM
7 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (FRA) Rabo Liv Women
8 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBR) Boels Dolmans 0:00:45
9 Chantal Blaak (NED) Boels Dolmans 0:00:47
10 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Bigla