Avanti Racing's Patrick Bevin and Michaela Parsons of the Specialized Securitor team were confirmed as Jayco Adelaide Tour winners after the final day of racing.
Cycling Central

13 Apr 2015 - 9:46 AM  UPDATED 13 Apr 2015 - 3:39 PM

 Bevin won the first two stages and with the help of his dominant Avanti team held his lead to the end. His teammate Matthew Clark finished second overall 43 seconds in arrears.

Yet another Avanti rider, Neil van der Ploeg, finished third overall, 51 seconds back after winnig the final 80 kilometre kermesse ahead of Michael Schweizer (African Wildlife Safaris) and Angus Tobin (Health.com.au Search2Retain).

"To win three stages out of four is great for the team, and to clean sweep the podium is fantastic, an unbelievable week," said Bevin.

General classification
1 Patrick Bevin (NZL) Avanti 7hr 14min 41sec    
2 Matthew Clark (AUS) Avanti Racing 0:00:43    
3 Neil Van Der Ploeg (AUS) Avanti Racing 0:00:51    
4 Raphael Freienstein (GER) CharterMason Giant         
5 Patrick Shaw (AUS) Avanti  Racing    
6 Adam Bull (NZL) Subaru Albion         
7 Guy Kalma (AUS) Otoc Vault         
8 Jack Bobridge (AUS) Budget Forklifts         
9 Brodie Talbot (AUS) Budget Forklifts    0:00:53    
10 Patrick Lane (AUS) African Wildlife Safaris 0:01:15   

For 20-year-old Parsons, the Adelaide Tour was the biggest win of her career. Like Bevan, she held her nerve after winning the opening stage and carried the race lead to the end.

Parsons finished 12 seconds ahead of Kristy Glover (Bicycle Superstore) and Rebecca Wiasak (High5 Dream Team).

 “I just cried that it was over,” said an emotional Parsons after the race. “It’s unbelievable, it’s all a surprise to me. I feel like I’m in a fairy tale at the moment. It’s my first ever Tour.

“The other teams all wanted it, some wanted the stage win and others wanted to bring down the gap to me – it was just attack after attack after attack," said Parsons.

Kimberley Wells (High5 Dream Team) clinched line honours ahead of Tasmania's Georgia Baker and Onkaparinga KOM Classification winner Ruth Corset (Total Rush).

"Two from two I’ve really gathered momentum with the High5 team so it’s a great start to the NRS season," said Wells.

“It was an epic race out there. Everyone was so aggressive all the time it could have been anyone’s race – breakaways, solo riders or a bunch kick."

General classification
1 Michaele Parsons (AUS) Specialized Securitor 7hr 09min 38sec
2 Kristy Glover (AUS) Bicycle Superstore 0:00:12    
3 Rebecca Wiasak (AUS) High5 Dream Team         
4 Ruth Corset (AUS) Total Rush Hyster 0:00:14    
5 Allison Rice (AUS) CBR Women's Team         
6 Taryn Heather (AUS) Bicycle Superstore         
7 Lucy Coldwell (AUS) Holden Women         
8 Victoria Veitch (AUS) EMBA-Ozone Cleaning Specialists 0:00:19    
9 Jessica Huston (AUS) Wormall CCS          
10 Rachel Ward (AUS) Boss Racing Team 0:00:26