• Nicola Boem's day has arrived (Getty Images)
A seemingly innocuous stage of the Giro d’Italia has seen Richie Porte’s chances of winning the Italian Grand Tour suffer a blow after the Australian lost significant time due to a mechanical in the final five kilometres.
Cycling Central

20 May 2015 - 1:54 AM  UPDATED 20 May 2015 - 8:46 AM

While Nicola Boem (Bardiani-CSF)  was sprinting against his breakaway companions to claim the Stage 10 victory, Porte was fighting to regain contact with the back of the peloton.

The Sky rider suffered a mechanical with five kilometres to go, and despite support from four of his team-mates and Australian compatriot Michael Matthews, he could not make his way back to thundering peloton before the finish line.

He eventually crossed the line 47 seconds after the peloton, slipping down the general classification to fourth. Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) retained his three second advantage of Fabio Aru with his Astana team-mate Mikel Landa moving to third overall, 46 seconds back. Porte then sat 1min 9sec in arrears. Or at least he would have, had that been the end of matters, but a ruling by the race jury cost Porte further time when it was revealed that Porte was given a spare wheel by Orica-GreenEDGE rider Simon Clarke to hasten his return to the peloton. 

"It was anything but an easy day. Every day at the Giro can hold surprises in store. The other day it was my crash. Today Richie had an unfortunate puncture. It is always annoying to lose time that way although, with everything that lies ahead of us, the time lost is very small." - Alberto Contador

What was meant to be a flat 200km stage to ease the peloton back into racing after the rest day was more eventful than anyone bargained for.

With one small mid-stage climb to contend with it looked certain to be a sprint finish, but the peloton underestimated the required effort to reel in the break with a tailwind, allowing the breakaway to steal the stage spoils.

Matteo Busato (Southeast), Oscar Gatto (Androni Giocattoli), Nicola Boem (Bardiani CSF), Alessandro Malaguti (Nippo-Vini Fantini) and Alan Marangoni (Cannondale-Garmin) made an early attack as the race left  Civitanova Marche and quickly built an advantage on the peloton.

At the 100km mark the all-Italian break held a four minute lead on the peloton.

It was all red on the front of the peloton with the presence of Lotto-Soudal riding for sprinter Andre Greipel. With Lotto-Soudal so eager in taking up the chase they received little support from other teams, with only a token effort from Giant-Alpecin and Trek Factory Racing to aid them.

Despite a desperate chase, with 25km to go the breakaway, travelling at 50km/h, still held close to a 2min 30sec advantage.

The break was reduced to four riders with 13km to go when a punctured ended Gatto’s chances of a second Giro stage victory.

With a minute in hand with only six kilometres left it was enough for the breakaway to start working on victory strategies. Marangoni was the first to strike, attacking with just over a kilometre remaining. However he was brought back and that there was three negotiating a cobbled and windy finish. Boem opened the sprint first in a perfectly-timed move, and did enough to claim the stage victory.

"We were targeting a stage win at this Giro, and it has come in the flattest, most unlikely stage," said Boem.  

"We worked together and with 20km to go we had a good advantage. With 1.5km to go, Alan Marangoni attacked. I knew I couldn't let him get away so I just gave it everything. I dedicate the win to my team-mates, who are probably even happier than I am, and to my girlfriend Federica, who has believed in me and encouraged me every day at this Giro."

Giro d'Italia broadcast details
SBS will broadcast every stage of the Giro d'Italia live. When possible, we will also live stream the race online here at Cycling Central before the television broadcast begins. In addition to morning highlights online, there will be highlights every day at 6pm on SBS 2.

Stage 10: 200km, Civitanova Marche to Forli
1 Nicola Boem (ITA) Bardiani CSF 4hr 26min 16sec    
2 Matteo Busato (ITA) Southeast         
3 Alessandro Malaguti (ITA) Nippo-Vini Fantini 0:00:02    
4 Alan Marangoni (ITA) Cannondale-Garmin 0:00:04    
5 Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA) Trek Factory Racing 0:00:18    
6 Sacha Modolo (ITA) Lampre-Merida         
7 André Greipel (GER) Lotto Soudal         
8 Luka Mezgec (SLO) Team Giant-Alpecin         
9 Nicola Ruffoni (ITA) Bardiani CSF         
10 Davide Appollonio (ITA) Androni Giocattoli    

General Classification
1 Alberto Contador (ESP) Tinkoff-Saxo 42hr 58min 09sec    
2 Fabio Aru (ITA) Astana 0:00:03    
3 Mikel Landa (ESP) Astana 0:00:46    
4 Richie Porte (AUS) Sky 0:01:09    
5 Dario Cataldo (ITA) Astana 0:01:16    
6 Roman Kreuziger (CZE) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:01:46    
7 Rigoberto Uran (COL) Etixx-Quick-Step    0:02:10    
8 Giovanni Visconti (ITA) Movistar 0:02:12    
9 Damiano Caruso (ITA) BMC Racing 0:02:20    
10 Andrey Amador (CRC) Movistar 0:02:24