• A yellow jersey and a lion for BMC's Rohan Dennis (Sirotti)Source: Sirotti
Australia's Dennis has grabbed control of the race lead in the Critérium du Dauphiné after BMC took out the third stage time-trial.
10 Jun 2015 - 6:56 AM  UPDATED 10 Jun 2015 - 1:06 PM

The American world champions started early and sat in the hot seat for nearly an hour as rivals Astana, Movistar, Etixx-QuickStep, Orica-GreenEDGE and Sky failed to reach the set target.

At the finish of the stage BMC edged out riders from Astana in the 24.5km ride from Roanne to Montagny by four seconds to place both Dennis and team-mate van Garderen equal first on the general classification.

The 25-year-old Dennis crossed the finish line first to take the yellow jersey following a stage similiar to that scheduled for day nine of the Tour de France in July.

"We didn't actually talk about who would go over the line first," the former world hour record holder Dennis said. "It was just whoever got there first.

"Tejay took over with 500 meters to go and I saw Dylan (Teuns) was just off the wheel. So I backed off and paced him back on. I just came at Tejay and Daniel (Oss) and Joey (Rosskopf) and went past them, wanting to help them get to the line as quickly as possible."


Astana's Andriy Grivko is third and defending Tour de France champion Vincenzo Nibal Nibali fourth, both in a group of five at four seconds while the Movistar team led by Spaniard Alejandro Valverde were at five seconds.

Previous leader Peter Kennaugh dropped to 19th overall, 23 seconds behind Dennis, after Team Sky and its leader Chris Froome could only manage sixth place at 35 seconds.

BMC's Dennis is also the best young rider in the race, while Daniel Teklehaimanot (MTN-Qhubeka) retained the mountainc classification jersey and Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis) exchanged the white jersey for the green one after Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida) abandoned prior to the stage.

"It's special, just before the Tour de France. It's a big race," said Dennis. "We came here with strong guys for the team time trial. I'm two years older than when I first received this jersey.

"I'm stronger. I have been targeting time trials a bit more, and I've raised my general classification ambitions compared to two years ago."

The fourth stage will see the peloton encounter their longest day in the saddle as they ride 228km from Anneyron to Sisteron.

Stage 3: 24.5km, Roanne - Montagny
1 BMC 29min 54sec
2 Astana 0:00:04
3 Movistar 0:00:05
4 Etixx-QuickStep 0:00:18
5 Orica-GreenEDGE 0:00:23
6 Sky 0:00:35
7 Cannondale-Garmin 0:00:43
8 Lampre-Merida 0:00:47
9 IAM 0:00:50
10 LottoNL-Jumbo 0:00:54
11 Bora-Argon 18
12 Lotto-Soudal 0:00:59
13 AG2R 0:01:00
14 Katusha 0:01:05
15 MTN-Qhubeka 0:01:07
16 Europcar 0:01:08
17 Trek Factory Racing 0:00:14
18 Giant-Alpecin 0:01:18
19 Tinkoff-Saxo 0:01:30
20 FDJ.fr 0:01:36
21 Cofidis 0:01:49

General classification
1 Rohan Dennis (AUS) BMC 8hr 00min 37sec
2 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC
3 Andriy Grivko (UKR) Astana 0:00:04
4 Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) Astana
5 Lieuwe Westra (NED) Astana
6 Rein Taaramae (EST) Astana
7 Michele Scarponi (ITA) Astana
8 Gorka Izagirre (ESP) Movistar 0:00:05
9 Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Movistar
10 John Gadret (FRA) Movistar