• Kristijan Durasek crosses the finish line to win the 161.1km second stage, of the Tour de Suisse (AAP)Source: AAP
Kristijan Durasek won the Tour de Suisse second stage as Tom Dumoulin retained the overall lead.
Cycling Central

15 Jun 2015 - 6:13 AM 

The 27-year-old Durasek (Lampre-Merida) broke clear in the final kilometre of the 161.1km stage to finish four seconds ahead of a group that included Dumoulin (Giant-Aplecin).

Daniel Moreno (Katusha) was second, edging Julian Arredondo (Trek Factory Racing) into third.

“This is my first victory in a World Tour race, I’m happy because my good season is continuing after the victory in the Tour of Turkey,” Durasek said.

“My legs were good in the important moments. I could ask them for extra in the attack, since I was aware I was not the fastest rider of the head group.”

Australia’s Cameron Meyer (Orica-GreenEDGE) led the break of the day along with Luka Pibernik (Lampre-Merida), Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto-Soudal) and Valerio Agnoli (Astana) but the four riders were caught on the closing street circuit in Risch-Rotkreuz.

Durasek was patient despite a series of attacks from riders like Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) and Geraint Thomas (Sky). His effort came inside the final kilometre to take a crafty solo victory.

Thomas placed fifth on the stage to move up to second overall, trailing Dumoulin by seven seconds.

The nine-day Swiss race is the last major warm-up event for next month's Tour.

Stage 2: 161.1km, Risch-Rotkreuz - Risch-Rotkreuz
1 Kristijan Durasek (CRO) Lampre-Merida 3hr 36min 52sec
2 Daniel Moreno (ESP) Katusha 0:00:04
3 Julian Arredondo (COL) Trek Factory Racing
4 Thibaut Pinot (FRA) FDJ.fr
5 Geraint Thomas (GBR) Sky
6 Simon Spilak (SLO) Katusha
7 Miguel Angel Lopez (COL) Astana
8 Jakob Fuglsang (DEN) Astana
9 Tom Dumoulin (NED) Giant-Alpecin
10 Peter Sagan (SVK) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:14

General classification
1 Tom Dumoulin (NED) Giant-Alpecin 3hr 42min 37sec
2 Geraint Thomas (GBR) Sky 0:00:07
3 Daniel Moreno (ESP) Katusha 0:00:11
4 Jakob Fuglsang (DEN) Astana 0:00:14
5 Peter Sagan (SVK) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:15
6 Steve Morabito (SUI) FDJ.fr
7 Thibaut Pinot (FRA) FDJ.fr 0:00:16
8 Kristijan Durasek (CRO) Lampre-Merida 0:00:18
9 Bob Jungels (LUX) Trek Factory Racing 0:00:19
10 Simon Spilak (SLO) Katusha