• Jack Haig, winner of the 2013 edition of the Tour of Tasmania. (AFP)Source: AFP
Arguably the jewel in the Subaru National Road Series crown, this year's six-day Tour of Tasmania runs from October 6-11 and will feature two new stages and the introduction of a prologue.
Cycling Central

26 Aug 2015 - 11:05 AM  UPDATED 26 Aug 2015 - 11:07 AM

Terrain in the Apple Isle is renowned for being arguably the toughest in Australia, with past winners of the Tour of Tasmania including Cadel Evans, Richie Porte, Nathan Haas, Bernard Sulzberger, Cameron Meyer, and more recently, Jack Haig and Patrick Bevin.

Bookended by new locations at the Baskerville Raceway (Hobart) and Symmons Plains Raceway (Launceston), the 120km Strathgordon to New Norfolk road race will challenge the riders from the get-go on Stage 1.

It is a case of old meets new with the decisive second and fourth stages being reprised, while Stage 3 sees the return of a classic that history buffs will know well.

The 106km second stage from Ulverstone to Penguin evoked strong emotions from tour director John Trevorrow as he travelled the route. "This course is world class," he remarked.

"It is one of the best you will find anywhere in the world. In my experience, they don't come any better than this! It's a real challenge for the riders, there's not a single section of straight road out there, which makes it conducive to attacking racing."

Stage 3's East Devonport to George Town road race is another new introduction, with the route starting on the banks of the Mersey River before hitting the hills of Holwell. Old-time followers of the race will remember the region as the home of the dreaded Holwell Climb.

"Yet another stunning stage that provides an ideal platform for aggressive racing; lots of long, fast sections of road with a fantastic super-fast finish," Trevorrow said.

The day following provides no rest for the faint-hearted, the Stage 4 Launceston to Grindelwald road race set to shape the tour's standings with a decisive final decisive climb just outside of Launceston, ahead of the final criterium stage Sunday in Symmons Plains.

2015 Tour of Tasmania stages
October 6 - Prologue: Baskerville Raceway, Baskerville Road, Old Beach
October 7 - Stage 1: Strathgordon to New Norfolk
October 8 - Stage 2: Ulverstone to Penguin
October 9 - Stage 3 East Devonport to George Town
October 10 - Stage 4: Launceston to Grindelwald
October 11 - Stage 5: Symmons Plains criterium

Broadcast details
Highlights from the Tour will be broadcast on the Nine Network's GEM channel on Sunday 18 October at 12noon AEST and also on Fox Sports 3 on Tuesday 20 October at 6:00pm AEST (check local guides).