• Kristian Sbaragli (C) crosses the finish line to win the 10th stage of the 2015 Vuelta a España (Getty) (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Kristian Sbaragli (MTN Qhubeka) finished ahead of John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin) and José Joaquín Rojas of Movistar to hand the African team its first ever Vuelta a España stage victory.
Cycling Central

1 Sep 2015 - 7:23 AM  UPDATED 1 Sep 2015 - 8:08 AM

"I was feeling really well on the climb and just didn’t want to miss out again," Sbaragli said. "I came so close a few times already in this La Vuelta, so I decided to wait until 200 meters to go before leaving it all out there.

"It’s sensational, something I never tasted before. This win is good for our team, but especially for Qhubeka and our 5.000 bikes campaign."

Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin) remains overall leader with an advantage of 57 seconds ahead of Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) and Esteban Chaves (Orica-GreenEDGE a further two seconds back.\

The 146km stage from Valencia to Castellon on the east coast of Spain was always marked as one to suit the sprinters with the finish coming 25km after a 7km long second category climb.

The day started with a massive 37-rider break which ended with 48km left to the finish in Castellón. Shortly after a solo attack came from Niki Terpstra (Etixx-Quick Step) but that was closed down after 14km by the Movistar team.

The ascent of the Alto del Desierto de La Palmas split the peloton, wih Alessandro de Marchi (BMC), Romain Sicard (Europcar) and Kenny Elissonde (FDJ) making a play to escape to the finish as a trio.

But they were captured with 5km to race as the sprinters, led by Degenkolb and his Giant-Alpecin team, dominated the finale.

However the finish went to Sbaragli as the better credentialled Degenkolb launched his bid too late to snare the win.