• Rohan Dennis in action during the time trial on day five of the UCI Road World Championships (Getty) (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Australian cycling has enjoyed another big year and it's reflected in the finalists for the annual awards

10 Nov 2015 - 9:18 AM 

Anna Meares, Richie Porte and Rohan Dennis headline the finalists for Cycling Australia's (CA) annual awards.

CA has announced the contenders for the various award categories ahead of Friday night's dinner in Melbourne.

It will not reveal the finalists for the main award, the Sir Hubert Opperman medal and trophy, or Oppy, until the night.

Australian cycling has enjoyed another strong year and there will be riders who miss out on their category awards who would have won the Oppy a decade or so ago.

Meares, Annette Edmondson and Rebecca Wiasak are the finalists for the women's track award after all winning gold medals at the world championships.

Meares' keirin win gave her 11 world titles, making her track cycling's most successful woman.

Edmondson took out the omnium and was a member of the successful team pursuit squad, while Wiasak won the individual pursuit.

Dennis had a stellar year, briefly holding the world hour record as well as winning the Tour Down Under and the opening stage of the Tour de France.

But Porte, who had a string of early-season wins, and Michael Matthews also have strong claims for the men's road category.

Matthews had a breakout season, winning a Giro d'Italia stage and finishing runner-up at the world road championships.

Para cyclist Alistair Donohue also had an outstanding year, with gold medals at his world track and road championships.

Last year's winner Simon Gerrans is coming off a disastrous year in which he has been plagued by a series of crashes.

Elite Road Cyclist of the Year - Female
Gracie Elvin (ACT), Katrin Garfoot (QLD), Lauren Kitchen (NSW)

Elite Road Cyclist of the Year - Male
Rohan Dennis (SA), Michael Matthews (ACT), Richie Porte (TAS)

Elite Track Cyclist of the Year - Female
Annette Edmondson (SA), Anna Meares (SA/formerly QLD), Rebecca Wiasak (ACT)

Elite Track Cyclist of the Year - Male
Jack Bobridge (SA), Matthew Glaetzer (SA), Glenn O’Shea (SA/formerly VIC)

Elite MTB Men
Troy Brosnan (SA), Jason English (NSW), Jared Graves (QLD)

Elite MTB Women
Tracey Hannah (QLD), Janine Jungfels (QLD), Emily Parkes (ACT)

The full list can be found at the Cycling Australia website.