• Rohan Dennis in Tour de France yellow (AAP)Source: AAP
Rohan Dennis was honoured for his outstanding cycling season when he won Cycling Australia's "Oppy" for the first time.

14 Nov 2015 - 5:20 AM  UPDATED 14 Nov 2015 - 5:21 AM

Rohan Dennis is the Australian cyclist of the year after his stellar form on the road and track.

The 25-year-old won the "Oppy" - the Sir Hubert Opperman medal and trophy - for the first time ahead of world track champion Annette Edmondson and paracycling star Alistair Donohue.

Dennis had a breakout season on the road, winning the opening time trial stage of the Tour de France.

He also won the Tour Down Under and US Pro Challenge stage races, as well as helping his BMC professional team take out the world team time trial championship.

In early February, Dennis set the world hour record on the track at 52.491km, a mark since broken by British riders Alex Dowsett and Sir Brad Wiggins.

It was only when Dennis spoke to BMC team manager and compatriot Allan Peiper that he realised the enormity of his achievements this year.

"Initially I didn't think it was that good a year," Dennis said.

"I just picked a few targets and went for them.

"Allan helped put it in context by comparing it to what some other people achieve in an entire career."

Dennis also won the hotly-contested men's road category at the Cycling Australia annual awards function on Friday night in Melbourne.

He won the men's road award ahead of Richie Porte and Michael Matthews, who in other years would have been worthy winners of the Oppy.

Dennis wants to start next year by winning the time trial at the January road nationals and then return to the Tour de France.

He also hopes to ride at the Rio Olympics.

Edmondson won the omnium title at this year's track worlds, as well as being part of the team pursuit squad that also won the gold medal.

Her category was another tough one to pick, with Anna Meares and Rebecca Wiasak also winning world titles.

Donohue won the paracycling category for the second year in a row after winning world road and track titles.

The coveted People's Choice award, voted on by the public, went to cycling's ironman Adam Hansen.

He could not accept his award, but sent a video from the Mt Everest base camp, where Hansen is hiking.

This year, Hansen became the first rider to finish 13 consecutive three-week Grand Tours - the Tour de France, Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana.

Sprint ace Caleb Ewan won the rising star award.

Another highlight of this year's function was the first 12 inductions into the Cycling Australia Hall Of Fame.

They are Sir Hubert Opperman, Russell Mockridge, Dunc Gray, Sid Patterson, Phil Anderson, Kathy Watt, Anna Wilson, Robbie McEwen, Sara Carrigan, Ray Godkin, Charlie Walsh and Gerry Ryan.