• Run, ride and slide (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
16 riders have qualified to represent Australia at the 2016 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships.
Cycling Central

Mountain Bike Australia
19 Nov 2015 - 11:40 AM  UPDATED 19 Nov 2015 - 11:44 AM

The Cyclo-cross World Championships will take place in Heusden-Zolder, Belgium from 30-31 January.

The announcement of the Australian riders selected to race in the championships was made yesterday by Mountain Bike Australia.

The team includes three-time Australian cyclo-cross female champion, Lisa Jacobs (Rapha-Focus), who has recently returned home after racing in Europe earlier this year. Australia's most successful cyclo-cross athlete has just received a custom painted frame for the occasion.

@ljridehappy: So stoked to have @sungraphics1 paint my @focusstraya race frames for the upcoming worlds campaign. They'll be running @sram_australia Force1, @curvecycling wheels w Tune hubs and #FMB tubs. My perfect setup. [photo] @sungraphics1 


The elite men's team includes Australian male champion Paul van der Ploeg, who won the title from Chris Jongewaard (also selected) in a controversial finish that saw both riders forcing each other off their bikes on the way to the finish line.

Riders will need to prepare for the cold conditions of the race during the heat of the Australian summer, or find a way to extend their trip to Europe to acclimatise to the snow, update their mud skills and learn first hand what it’s like to race in front of the infamously loud and animated European cyclo-cross fans.

Elite male representative Garry Millburn is already in Belgium and will race the Koksijde world cup round there this weekend as part of his preparation for the world championships.

@garrymillburn: Hello #Belgium! Strangely stoked to be back in the cold, wet and wind of Oudenaarde! 

@garrymillburn: Remember that time I raced in Belgium... Well it's here again! Koksijde World Cup this weekend and then 14 other races leading into the World Champs! Full details to come! Huge thanks to all the peeps tagged for helping me get to this point once again. Australian team announced for Cyclocross World Championships 

Athletes selected for the Australian team for the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships:

Paul van der Ploeg
Chris Jongewaard
Garry Millburn
John Groves

Lisa Jacobs
Thérèse Rhodes
Josephine Simpson
Rebecca Locke
Natalie Redmond

Christopher Aitken
Nicholas Smith
Josh Abbey

Stacey Riedel

Ben Walkerden
Noah Barrow
Adam Blazevic

Six rounds of the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup series remain:
18 Oct – Valkenburg World Cup (NED)
22 Nov – Koksijde World Cup (BEL)
20 Dec – Namur World Cup (BEL)
26 Dec – Heusden-Zolder World Cup (BEL)
17 Jan – Lignières-en-Berry World Cup (FRA)
24 Jan – Hoogerheide World Cup (NED)