• Cadel Evans at the 2016 launch of his road race (Twitter)Source: Twitter
The second edition of the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road race will be held at the end of January, with Rohan Dennis and Simon Gerrans confirmed starters.

30 Nov 2015 - 2:40 PM  UPDATED 30 Nov 2015 - 2:43 PM

Australian cyclist of the year Rohan Dennis (BMC) and compatriot Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEDGE) are confirmed starters for next year's Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race.

A number of other WorldTour teams and riders are also set to take part, including Sky, Trek Factory Racing and Lotto-JumboNL and IAM Cycling.

“To have nine of the best cycling teams in the world travelling to Victoria is fantastic and I am sure like last time they will enjoy the challenges and unique style of racing that our course and conditions provide. I can’t wait to see it unfold,” Evans said.

Gerrans will have a busy schedule of Australian races next January as he tries to put a crash-plagued season behind him.

Gerrans disappointed by cycling drama
Simon Gerrans is determined to return to top form after a season that started badly, never got going and ended on a sour note.

The second edition of the race will be held at the end of next January, with the women's event on the 30th and the men competing the following day.