• Jack Bobridge, Alexander Edmondson, Michael Hepburn and Luke Davison win the mens team pursuit (Getty) (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Australia claimed a five medal haul of two gold, two silver and one bronze day two of competition at the UCI Track World Cup in Cambridge, New Zealand.
Cycling Central

6 Dec 2015 - 6:37 AM  UPDATED 6 Dec 2015 - 6:38 AM

Australia blitzed hosts New Zealand by more than four seconds to to set a new national record and win the men's team pursuit gold.

Jack Bobridge, Luke Davison, Alexander Edmondson and Michael Hepburn finished 4.602sec ahead of the world champion Kiwi four on Saturday, clocking 3min 53.010sec, a new Australian record for the discipline.

Cameron Karwowski, Piet Bulling, Alex Frame and Regan Gough managed only a brief lead early on, finishing a distant second in 3:57.612.

“We wanted to go fast. In round one we went 3:55 with catching Switzerland, so we knew we wanted to go fast, but to ride 3:53.00 is an Australian record for us, Edmondson said.

"We’re pretty rapt that we’ve come away with a very fast time and the gold medal. I don’t think we could do much better than that so it is just making sure that we can do that for the big dance in Rio.”

In the women's team pursuit, world champions Australia were pushed all the way before pipping Canada by a mere .054sec in the gold medal race.

Ashlee Ankudinoff, Georgia Baker, Amy Cure and Isabella King finished strongly to clock 4:18.213 in downing Cali World Cup gold medallists Canada.

“It was a really close battle out there,” said Amy Cure who joined on the podium by Australian team-mates Ashlee Ankudinoff, Georgia Baker and Isabella King.

 “We knew it was going to be tough so we just had to stick to our schedule," Cure said. "The last couple of laps we were just racing them and we knew they were up the whole time. To get across the finish line and look up and see number one was very special for all of us.”

New Zealand's quartet produced their best time of the meet to take bronze after beating the United States by more than six seconds.

In the men’s team sprint it was Germany who emerged the victors, relegating New Zealand into silver.

The 2014 world champions Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster and Eddie Dawkins managed to out-power the Germans in the first two laps but couldn’t sustain the pace for the final lap, finishing just a split second down on the German trio of Rene Enders, Max Nierderlag and Joachim Eilers.

The race for bronze saw Australia’s Nathan Hart, Peter Lewis and Matthew Glaetzer riding for outclass Great Britain’s decorated squad of Philip Hindes, Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner.

Women’s team sprint world champions Jinje Gong and Tianshi Zhong of China were able to put away the Australian pair of Stephanie Morton and Kaarle McCulloch  in order to continue their World Cup dominance.

Following on from his team sprint success, Eilers made it two Keirin World Cups in succession with a brilliant victory in the final.

The 25-year-old German made a late run on the final lap to secure the narrowest of wins, holding out compatriot Maximilian Levy and American Matthew Baranoski.

Three-time Olympic champion Jason Kenny (Great Britain) drew well to lead the way, reclaiming the lead from Baranoski at the bell.

But the Englishman was joined in a three-way battle with Eilers and Levy before the German pair pushed clear in a close battle to the line.

Australia’s Stephanie Morton proved no match for world champion Kristina Vogel in the battle for the women’s sprint title.

Vogel (Germany) won both heats by a bike length to claim the gold medal after a solid performance by 25 year old Morton.

Lithuania’s Simona Krupeckaite claimed the bronze medal after three close races against China’s Shuang Guo.

Christopher Latham (USA) and Kirsten Wild (Netherlands) lead the Omnium competition after the first three events.