• The Vuelta a Espana 2016 (Supplied) (Vuelta a Espana)Source: Vuelta a Espana
Organisers presented overnight a climbers route for the 2016 edition of the Vuelta a España which will start in the province of Ourense.
Cycling Central

10 Jan 2016 - 7:34 AM  UPDATED 10 Jan 2016 - 7:45 AM

In total, the final Grand Tour of the season will consist of 3277.3km of riding that will take the peloton through 16 Spanish provinces from 20 August to 11 September.

The race will feature two time trials, one team and the other individual, seven flat stages and twelve mountain stages with a total of 10 summit finishes.

Aru wins the Vuelta a España
Fabio Aru wrapped up his first Grand Tour victory after finishing safely on the final stage of the Vuelta a España as John Degenkolb won the final sprint for Giant-Alpecin.

“It will be difficult to beat the 2015 edition, but that is what we aspire to,” race director Javier Guillen said. “I think the race will be decided in the time trial on the third last stage.”

As a new addition to the 2016 Vuelta, the race will have a finale at the Col d’Aubisque, in France, one of the Tour de France’s mythical climbs in the Pyrenees.

With 2016 an Olympic year the Vuelta may be marked down as a low priority by many top tier riders who are opting for a Tour de France/Rio program.

Among the missing may be Alberto Contador (Tinkoff), who praised the course while suggested his focus is elsewhere as he approches his final year in the sport.

"It is a typical route of the Vuelta a España, similar to what we have seen in the recent past," Contador said. "From the outset, the GC contenders will have to be in the front and assume their responsibilities".

"There are a few stages with longer mountain passes, especially stage 14 to Aubisque. These stages could suit better someone like me, if I were to take part in the Vuelta.

Of the top general classification contenders only Colombians Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Esteban Chaves (Orica-GreenEDGE) have indicated they will be at the start line.

Others like Chris Froome (Sky) and defending champion Fabio Aru (Astana) have either ruled out a start or are said to be considering their options.

Stages of the 2016 Vuelta a España
Stage 1 Laias to Castrelo de Mino (29.4km TTT)
Stage 2 Ourense to Baiona, 159km
Stage 3 Marin to Mirador de Ezaro, 170km
Stage 4 Betanzos to San Andres de Teixido, 161km
Stage 5 Viveiro to Lugo, 170km
Stage 6 Monforte de Lemos to Luintra, 163 km
Stage 7 Maceda to Puebla de Sanabria, 158,3 km
Stage 8 Villalpando to La Camperona, 177km
Stage 9 Cistierna to Oviedo/Alto Naranco, 165km
Stage 10 Lugones to Lagos de Covadonga, 186.6km
Stage 11 Colunga to Pena Cabarga, 168.6km
Stage 12 Corrales de Buelna to Bilbao, 193.2km
Stage 13 Bilbao to Urdax-Dantxarinea, 212.8km
Stage 14 Urdax Dantxarinea to Aubisque, 195.6km
Stage 15 Sabinanigo to Aramon Formigal, 120km
Stage 16 Alcaniz to Peniscola, 158km
Stage 17 Castellon to Llucena, 173,3 km
Stage 18 Requena to Gandia, 191km
Stage 19 Xabia to Calpe (39km ITT)
Stage 20 Benidorm to Alto de Aitana, 184km
Stage 21 Las Rozas to Madrid, 102.5km