• Anna Meares rises to the occasion (Cycling Australia)Source: Cycling Australia
The Adelaide Super-drome was set alight last night by South Australians, Anna Meares and Matthew Glaetzer, as they both won national championship titles in the Sprint for the third year in a row.
Cycling Central

Cycling Australia
6 Feb 2016 - 11:36 AM 

While the consistency of the duo makes it look like the wins come easily, Meares confirmed that the depth out there on the boards has returned to what it was at the beginning of her dominant career.  

Embracing her own challenges as much as opportunities to nurture local talent, Meares charged through one the most testing paths in her twelve Championships campaigns, firstly overpowering Kaarle McCulloch (NSW) in straight heats in the semi finals.

In the final against 2014 Commonwealth Games gold medalist Stephanie Morton, Meares treated the crowd to a breathtaking display of sprinting power, tactics and speed, to clinch a ninth sprint national title

“I think all things considered I was very, very proud of that ride,” said the 32-year-old. “This one was a hard fought one, very hard fought. I’ve been nursing a quad strain since Friday last week and qualifying didn’t go so well yesterday."

In the men’s event, Matthew Glaetzer showed why he is the world’s number one ranked sprinter as he saw off a superb challenge by 2012 Olympic bronze medalist Shane Perkins (VIC) in the semi final.

In the final, Glaetzer continued his near three-year unbeaten run on home soil in the sprint by defeating rising star Jacob Schmid (VIC).

“Every race this year, and this week, I’ve been in the mindset of this could be an Olympic race,” said Glaetzer.

In another dominating day by hometown riders, Adelaide's 'Super Siblings' Annette and Alex Edmondson won the points and scratch race titles respectively, while Luke Davison claimed the time trial title.

One day of racing remains. The schedule includes the men’s and women’s final for the Keiren, the women’s 10km Scratch Race final and the men’s 40km Points Race final.