• Anna Meares does it again (Cycling Australia)Source: Cycling Australia
Anna Meares and Shane Perkins executed their races to perfection to take the women’s and men’s keirin titles on the closing night of the 2016 Cycling Australia Track National Championships.
Cycling Central

Cycling Australia
7 Feb 2016 - 10:57 AM  UPDATED 7 Feb 2016 - 11:05 AM

Luminous in her rainbow jersey, Meares showed why she's the reigning world champion, reeling in Stephanie Morton on the line, who lead by two bike lengths inside the final lap, to bring the packed home crowd to their feet.

The win clinched Meares a sixth national keirin crown, her 36th national title, and ended a spectacular spell of dominance from Australian team-mate and triple reigning champion Morton who had to settle for a silver medal for the first time since 2011.

“I’m really pleased, really happy. As much as the results are great I’m really pleased with how I’ve been able to conduct myself and held myself mentally,” said Meares, who was also awarded the Champion of Champions trophy after a stunning week which saw her claim the team and individual sprint titles.

Shane Perkins won his third keirin national title with a powerful victory on a thrilling final day of racing.

Perkins burst back in to the lead on the final lap and held off late challenges from defending champion Jacob Schmid (VIC) who finished just behind in second. South Australia’s Thomas Clarke picked up bronze.

“That’s definitely one of the most satisfying wins I’ve had in my career,” said the 29-year-old Perkins.

In the Under-19 events, Kelland O'Brien (VIC) won his fourth gold of the Championships, while Tahlay Christie (WA) clinched a triple crown.  Nicola MacDonald (NSW), plus Cameron and Lachlan Scott (NSW) were also crowned champions.

South Australia's super siblings Annette and Alex Edmondson added to their family's trophy cabinet with victory in the women's scratch and men's points race respectively.

related reading
Third consecutive Sprint titles for Meares and Glaetzer
The Adelaide Super-drome was set alight last night by South Australians, Anna Meares and Matthew Glaetzer, as they both won national championship titles in the Sprint for the third year in a row.