• Graeme Mudd at the Subaru National Mountain Bike Series round in Thredbo. (Jamie Black)Source: Jamie Black
Graeme Mudd and Tegan Molloy were the fastest riders down the iconic cannonball track on their way to winning the third downhill round of the Subaru National Mountain Bike Series in Thredbo.
Cycling Central

Mountain Bike Australia
8 Feb 2016 - 9:35 AM  UPDATED 8 Feb 2016 - 9:51 AM

In Sunday morning’s elite men’s seeding, the second-placed rider in the series, 2014/15 Subaru National Series winner Mudd (NSW) set the fastest time of 4min 38.02sec, with second place going to Jared Graves (QLD) and Thomas Crimmins (NSW) taking third.

Troy Brosnan (SA), the reigning Australian downhill champion and the third-ranked downhiller in the world was absent on race day due to a crash in Saturday's practice, having returned home to Adelaide to recover with a dislocated shoulder.

With riders taking on the Thredbo track again on Sunday afternoon for the finals, the top three riders would ultimately finish in the same positions as they did in seeding.

Crimmins was the third-last rider to start, and the popular local set the fastest time (4min 42.75sec) of the finals run with only Graves and Mudd left to ride.

Graves descended next with a final race time of 4min 40.28sec which gave him the hot-seat from Crimmins.

The last rider down was Mudd, who had been the only rider below 4min 40sec, repeated that feat on his race run recording a time of 4min 38.72sec for his first national round win.

“It’s awesome, it’s my first national series race win. I’ve come close a couple of times, and I’ve also beat my hero Jared Graves which is an accomplishment in itself," Mudd said.

“I’m racing all of the World Cups from Cairns, I’ve finally finished my apprenticeship so it’s time to focus on the racing.”

Mudd now assumes the series lead heading into the final round in Toowoomba.

In the elite women’s seeding, fast runs on the challenging track saw Molloy (NSW) the fastest rider of the morning by 5.46sec from Danielle Beecroft (NSW) and Kellie Weinert (NSW).

As with the men, seedings would prove a solid form-guide for the final results.

Molloy recorded a time of 5min 17.32sec, finishing 8.46sec in front of Beecroft, with Weinert rounding out the podium in third.

“It’s always good to win but it’s even better to win on your home track, with all the family up here and my friends supporting me," Molloy said.

"I’d like to consistently finish in the top ten this world cup season. I had a few top-tens last year but this year I’d like to be more consistent, and hopefully make the podium one race."

Beecroft’s efforts this weekend helped her retain the series lead, she takes a 15 point buffer over Molloy to the final round.

In Under 19s action, both Jackson Frew (ACT) and Sian A’hern (NSW) backed up their seeding wins to take the junior women and men’s titles respectively.

Ellie Smith (NSW) won gold in the under 17's women’s race and series leader Patrick Butler (NSW) on top of the podium in the men’s.

Today also featured cross country criterium race action at Thredbo’s Friday Flat.

In A-grade women’s racing, Olympian Bec Henderson continued her excellent run of form, creating a gap at the end of lap 2 that she would consolidate on lap 3.

Henderson proceeded to ride away to the win unchallenged.

Holly Harris (NSW) and Katherine Hosking (NSW) diced for second place throughout the race with Harris eventually claiming the higher step on the podium.

In the final race of the day for the criterium, the A-Grade Men, Brendan Johnston (ACT) had a close battle with Tasman Nankervis (VIC).

With two minutes on the clock, Johnston made the decisive move to take the win, with Nankervis claiming silver and Tristan Ward (NSW) the bronze.

Henderson and Ivory win penultimate round of national XC series
Rebecca Henderson (Trek Factory Racing) and Cameron Ivory (Specialized Racing Australia) took the spoils in the fifth round of the Subaru National Mountain Bike Series on Thredbo's high altitude cross-country course.