• Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate (Rob Jones)Source: Rob Jones
Greg Minnaar (Santa Cruz Syndicate) took his 19th World Cup win in Fort William on Sunday at the fourth round of the Downhill World Cup, adding to the overall record he holds for men.
Rob Jones

Cycling Central
6 Jun 2016 - 12:17 PM  UPDATED 6 Jun 2016 - 7:16 PM

Minnaar finished with a time of four minutes and 35.601 seconds, 3.357 seconds ahead of Aaron Gwin (The YT Mob), with Danny Hart (MS Mondraker) taking third, a further 0.638 seconds back.

Top Australian was Troy Brosnan (Specialized Racing) in fifth, 4.734 seconds behind Minnaar. Connor Fearon (Kona Factory) also just made the top ten, in tenth place.

"I grew up racing in the UK," Minnaar said, "so it feels like my home race away from home. It's a tough track to ride, but it's about just putting this one together.

"I don't know what it is. I didn't think my time was going to last, but somehow I managed to pull some time at the bottom. Yeah, I was [a bit nervous in the Hot Seat] I was also getting nervous for some of the crashes coming down. Not good to see any of the guys go down."

"Today was special. I haven't had a great start to the season and we put a ton of effort into this event. We're blessed with the sport we were at we are in and we enjoy riding but sometimes

"it's really hard just to go out there and put the time in and train hard after so many years. Today one was special. This was definitely for Steve [Smith], he's got a special place in our heart."

Atherton wins again and Australia's Hannah posts a solid result

In the women's race, world champion Rachel Atherton (Trek Factory Racing DH) took her third straight victory, with a time of five minutes and 11.219 seconds.

Australia's Tracey Hannah (Polygon UR) finished second, 12.049 seconds back, her best World Cup result of the season, followed by Manon Carpenter (Madison Saracen) at 20.889 seconds. In other Australian results, Tegan Molloy (Kona Factory) was 13th, and Sian A'Hern was the top Junior rider, in 21st place..

"I didn't even think about that coming into the weekend," Atherton said, "but I can't believe it nine wins in a row, including last year. Winning in Fort William tops it every time. It's so cool. All the family's here and the fans going mad. Hopefully now I can have the rest the day to say hi to everyone. I was just so nervous before."

Canada's Finnley Iles (Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM) won the Junior Men's competition, taking his second World Cup win of the season, with a time of four minutes and 52.075 seconds. Gaetan Vige (Commencal/Vallnord) was second, 3.53 seconds back. Australia's Jackson Frew (GT Factory) finished third, 5.138 seconds back, while Remy Morton (Australia National) was 7th.

Both Atherton and Gwin continue to lead the overall standings at the end of the third round. Atherton has 730 points, with Carpenter moving up to second from third at 540 points, and Hannah going into third from fourth, a further 35 points back. Former second place Tahnee Seagrave (Transition Factory/FMD) drops to fifth after she did not race due to injury.

Gwin, at 560 points, leads Troy Brosnan by only 68 points, with Hart a distant third, 192 points behind Gwin. Loic Bruni (Specialized Gravity p/b SRAM), winner of Round 2, drops to fourth after injury kept him out of Fort William. Mick Hannah (Polygon UR) drops to seventh from fifth, while Connor Fearon is just outside the top-10 in 11th.

Iles leads the Junior men with 120 points after taking his second win, followed by Matt Walker (Madison Saracen) at 100 points and Vige at 75. Frew remains in fourth, tied with Vige at 75 points, with Morton in sixth and Harry Bush ninth.