• Tour de France stage winner Michael Matthews will lead Australia at the UCI Road World Championships. (Getty)Source: Getty
Michael Matthews, Caleb Ewan and Chloe Hosking headline the Australian team for the sprinter-friendly UCI Road World Championships.
Cycling Central

15 Sep 2016 - 5:43 PM  UPDATED 15 Sep 2016 - 5:51 PM

Sprint aces Caleb Ewan and Chloe Hosking and star allrounder Michael Matthews will be among Australia's top hopes at the world road cycling championships.

The 31-rider team will also feature Rio Olympics time-trial riders Rohan Dennis and Katrin Garfoot, who also loom as strong medal chances.

The October 9-16 worlds in Qatar will be held on flat terrain, meaning high-speed bunch sprints will most likely decide the medals in the road races.

Matthews finished runner-up behind Slovakian star Peter Sagan in the elite worlds road race last year, while Ewan has won silver in the under-19 and under-23 races.

SBS will broadcast the men's and women's elite individual time trials and road races live. Details to be announced.

Ewan is in strong form, having won the final stage of the Tour of Britain last weekend.

Hosking has also racked up six wins this season and has said since January that the Qatar worlds were a big priority for her.

Dennis and Garfoot joined a long list of Australian cyclists who came away from Rio disappointed.

Dennis was heading for a time-trial medal when a snapped aerobar meant a bike change and he slipped to fifth.

Garfoot was also rated a medal chance, however a pre-Olympics illness cruelled her chances and she finished ninth.

But Dennis finished second overall at the Tour of Britain and, on the weekend, Garfoot also won the Chrono Champenois time trial in France.

Paris-Roubaix winner Mat Hayman, Grand Tour ironman Adam Hansen, Mitch Docker, leadout specialist Mark Renshaw, Heinrish Haussler and Luke Durbridge are also in the strong men's road team.

Hosking's teammates will be Rio Olympian Gracie Elvin, Tiffany Cromwell, Loren Rowney, Lauren Kitchen and Sarah Roy.

Callum Scotson, who won Olympics silver on the track in the team's pursuit, is in the men's under-23 team.

He and his brother Miles are confirmed for the under-23 time trial, while the road race team is yet to be finalised.

Australia team for the UCI Road World Championships

Elite Men
Zak Dempster (VIC)
Rohan Dennis (SA) - Time Trial
Luke Durbridge (WA) - Time Trial/Road Race
Mitchell Docker (VIC)
Caleb Ewan (NSW)
Adam Hansen (QLD)
Heinrich Haussler (NSW)
Mathew Hayman (ACT)
Michael Matthews (ACT)
Mark Renshaw (NSW)

Elite Women
Tiffany Cromwell (SA)
Gracie Elvin (ACT)
Katrin Garfoot (QLD) - Time Trial/Road Race
Chloe Hosking (ACT)
Lauren Kitching (NSW)
Loren Rowney (QLD)
Sarah Roy (NSW)

Men's Under 23
Lucas Hamilton (VIC)
Jai Hindley (WA)
Jason Lowdnes (VIC)
Alexander Porter (SA)
Nicholas Schultz (QLD)
Callum Scotson (SA) - Time Trial
Miles Scotson (SA) - Time Trial
Michael Storer (WA)

Under 19
Macgregor Carter (VIC)
Alistair Christie-Johnson (VIC)
Harry Sweeny (QLD)
Madeleine Fasnacht (TAS)
Jaime Gunning (QLD)
Chloe Moran (SA)