• The BMC team powered to a convincing stage victory on Stage 5. (Getty)Source: Getty
Rohan Dennis reclaimed the Eneco Tour overall lead after his BMC team combined to win the Stage 5 team time-trial.
Cycling Central

24 Sep 2016 - 6:02 AM  UPDATED 24 Sep 2016 - 8:50 AM

BMC finished six seconds ahead of Etixx-QuickStep and 23 in front of LottoNL-Jumbo to give Dennis a 16-second general classification lead over team-mate Taylor Phinney.

Tony Martin (Etixx-QuickStep) is third at 24 seconds while former race leader and dual stage winner Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) is fourth with a 27-second deficit.

"We finished with eight riders and we showed that there is a reason why we are the number one team in the world when it comes to the TTT,” Dennis said.

“We weren't too stressed about performing. It was more about how much time we would take out of Sagan and Tinkoff.

“I am pretty satisfied with how we did. It wasn't perfect today. We still have some stuff to work on and you never win easily so everyone in the team suffered a bit but we worked really well together.

“I would have been happy to finish the TTT with an advantage of anything over 20 seconds and I was aiming personally for around 30 to 40 so to get 34 seconds in the end and bring me to a 27 second advantage in the GC was good.

“Although it is by no means a given that we will take the win, it will make it a bit easier."

Team Dimension Data was first to take the start of the 20.9km Sittard-Geleen stage and went on to finish in 24min 47.70sec.

Lampre-Merida went 15 seconds quicker then Trek-Segafredo set the new benchmark followed by Orica-BikeExchange, which produced a time of 24min 22.82sec. Sky then blew that time away by a massive 33 seconds.

Lotto-Soudal improved on Sky's time with a surprising ride that was 9 seconds quicker than Sky.

IAM Cycling was the next team in the hot seat, 7 seconds quicker than Lotto-Soudal before Etixx-QuickStep took the lead by 20 seconds with Movistar in second.

But those results were swept away as world time trial champions BMC, led by Dennis set the fastest time of the day at 23min 11.07sec.