• Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic. (Supplied)Source: Supplied
Kick off your New Year by catching the 2017 Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic criterium series live on the web worldwide at the SBS Cycling Central Facebook page and highlights on SBS TV and Foxsports.
Cycling Central

24 Dec 2016 - 12:18 PM  UPDATED 31 Dec 2016 - 11:22 AM

With some of Victoria's most spectacular coastal scenery as its backdrop, the event will see the opening stage hosted by the Greater City of Geelong on January 1. The race then travels to the beautiful township of Portarlington on January 2 and finishes with the traditional Williamstown circuit on January 3.

SBS and Foxsports have both been confirmed as preferred broadcasters of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic.

SBS's Cycling Central Facebook page will deliver a livestream of the racing each day and will also air a highlights package in the lead up to the Men's and Women's Road Races as part of their Mars Cycling Australia Road Nationals broadcast from midday to 1pm on Sunday 8th January 2017.

Foxsports will broadcast Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic highlights on pay-tv.
Sat 7th – 21:30 Fox Sports 503
Sun 8th – 10:00 Fox Sports 505

SBS nightly news and Foxsports news will have daily race highlights, with other free-to-air networks also likely to include the action in their bulletins.

Race Director John Trevorrow " We are excited to be delivering fast racing to a global audience via SBS Cycling Central Facebook live. The Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic is charging strongly towards its fourth decade and we continue to utilise fresh technology to take our cycling stars to new audiences"

"We are thrilled to have recognised cycling leaders in SBS and Foxsports broadcasting our action to nationwide TV audiences to kick start a huge summer of cycling."

Radio grabs are set to be available at the conclusion of each day's racing.

Holidays crowds are expected to flock to the thee-day event, with local superstars like Caleb Ewan, Steele Von Hoff and Chloe Hosking chasing more titles and three-time Olympic gold medallist, Ed Clancy (UK) and Annemiek van Vleuten (NED) heading the international raiders.