Caleb Ewan is expected to continue racing in the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic series despite a Race 1 crash.
Cycling Central

2 Jan 2017 - 8:16 AM  UPDATED 2 Jan 2017 - 9:50 AM

Orica-Scott are taking the positives out of a rugged start to the year after sprinter Caleb Ewan crashed on the last corner of Sunday night's opening race of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic series.

While Ewan suffered some nasty grazes to his left shoulder and hip, he was not hurt badly. He will most likely start race two in coastal Portarlington.

Race 2 of the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic will be streamed live on the Cycling Central Facebook page from 12:50pm AEDT, Monday 2 January 2017.

But it means for this year at least, the two-time defending champion cannot join Robbie McEwen as the only riders to win the series three times in a row.

Ewan has also won three times on the Ritchie Boulevard circuit in Geelong and he was at a loss to explain Sunday's fall there.

Despite the setback, teammate Mitch Docker said they all gained something from the race ahead of next week's road nationals in Ballarat.

Docker, Michael Hepburn, Damien Howson and Luke Durbridge worked hard to set up Ewan, only for British rider Ian Bibby to take the upset win.

2017 off to ideal start for Scandolara and Bibby in Geelong as Ewan falls

"Ultimately, we're all here for a big hit out before the nationals, the road race and criterium," Docker said.

"All the individual riders are happy with their day because they've all had a good hit out.

"It's lovely to get the win, that's the next thing, but ultimately we still didn't come out of it with anything negative. It's another day in the legs."

Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic Livestream and TV broadcast
Kick off your New Year by catching the 2017 Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic criterium series live on the web worldwide at the SBS Cycling Central Facebook page and highlights on SBS TV and Foxsports.

The Orica-Scott women's team also came up short despite a succession of attacks in their race.

Former teammate Valentina Scandolara was part of a three-rider break that went clear with less than 10 minutes left and the Italian sprinted clear for the win.

Orica-Scott will again feature prominently on the tough Portarlington circuit, where Durbridge is a two-time race winner.