• Mat Hayman leads the big hitters through a cobbled section at the 2016 Paris-Roubaix. (Getty)Source: Getty
With Paris-Roubaix on the horizon organisers have named the 25 teams to brave the cobbles of the 115th edition of the race.
Cycling Central

21 Feb 2017 - 8:09 AM  UPDATED 21 Feb 2017 - 8:51 AM

Held on 9 April and broadcast and streamed live on SBS, the 2017 route will feature an increase in the number of cobbled kilometres along the 257km route from Compiègne and the Roubaix velodrome - from 52.8km in 2016 to 55km this year.

The race will again feature the Trouée d'Arenberg, Mons-en-Pévèle and the Carrefour de l’Arbre while Briastre and Solesmes will return to torment the riders after a 30-year hiatus.

Barring an early season calamity, 2016 champion Mathew Hayman (Orica-Scott) will defend his title from legends like four-time winner Tom Boonen (Quick-Step Floors), who is in his final season as a professional.

This year, immediately after the first stretches of cobblestone a change of direction will lead the peloton to the rejuvenated Briastre and Solesmes sectors.

“The first is three kilometres long, it is actually being renovated but it is one of the difficult sectors,” said route designer, Thierry Gouvenou.

“The next is a lot shorter, however, it is uphill. It is not our wish to make the race harder at this stage, but to find more diversity between the cobblestone sectors and make sure these areas continue to feed the legend.

“In total, the cycling acrobats will have an added 2.2 kilometres of cobblestones to ride over compared to last year, before reaching the finish at the Roubaix Velodrome.”

The teams invited to take part in the 115th edition of the “Queen of the Classics” include the 18 from the UCI WorldTour along with six- wild card selections.

AG2R La Mondiale (FRA), Astana (KAZ), Bahrain-Merida (BRN), BMC (USA), Bora-hansgrohe (GER), Cannondale Drapac (USA), FDJ (FRA), Lotto Soudal (BEL), Movistar (ESP), Orica-Scott (AUS), Quick-Step Floors (BEL), Dimension Data (RSA), Katusha-Alpecin (SUI), LottoNL-Jumbo (NED), Sky (GBR), Sunweb (GER), Trek-Segafredo (USA), UAE Abu Dhabi (UAE).

Cofidis (FRA), Direct Energie (FRA), Fortuneo-Vital Concept (FRA), Delko Marseille Provence KTM (FRA), Wanty-Groupe Gobert (BEL), TopSport Vlaanderen-Baloise (BEL), Roompot Nederlandse Loterij (NED).