• Australia's Miles Scotson - seen here at the 2017 AMGEN Tour of California - and Samuel Sanchez will line up for BMC at the Velon Hammer Series (Getty)Source: Getty
Miles Scotson and Samuel Sanchez will feature for BMC at Velon's Hammer Series on 2-4 June 2017.
Cycling Central

BMC Pro Team, Velon
30 May 2017 - 8:53 AM  UPDATED 30 May 2017 - 9:51 AM

hammer time
Stop! 'Hammer' time - Velon launches new race series
A new, short, sharp and flashy international road race series is on its way and aims to offer something new for TV audiences and spectators on the ground.

Australia's Miles Scotson and veteran Samuel Sanchez will line up for BMC at the new Velon Hammer Series on 2-4 June 2017. 

BMC's seven rider line-up is designed to be competitive across the three stages, the Hammer Sprint, the Hammer Climb and the Hammer Chase. 

"We are obviously unsure of what to expect and how it will differ from other races," Jackson Stewart, BMC Sports Director said. "But I think it's almost certain there'll be great racing for fans. 

"It will be an action-packed race with the focus changing every day and each team's sprinting, climbing and time trialling abilities all being tested."

"We are taking a well-rounded team that I think can be competitive across the three consecutive challenges."

Miles Scotson will no doubt add time trialling and puncheur firepower to the squad, while Samuel Sanchez, experience. 

"We will face a new, multi-discipline race format which I think will produce some pretty spectacular racing," Sanchez said. "It will be great for us to see the roads lined with cycling fans and I think it will be an exciting experience.

"Some of us are lining up following the AMGEN Tour of California, and I am sure our legs will respond well. I'm looking forward to getting started," Sánchez explained.

BMC Rider Roster: Tom Bohli, Stefan Küng (SUI), Daniel Oss (ITA), Manuel Quinziato (ITA), Samuel Sanchez (ESP), Miles Scotson (AUS), Dylan Teuns (BEL)

Bahrain Merida has also confirmed its line-up for the series:

How to watch the race

The race will be streamed via the Hammer Series Facebook Page from 10.45pm AEST. 

The live stream will also be available on YouTube via the GCN channel.   

The race format

Each team can field a squad of seven riders including their best sprinters, climbers, and time-triallists with any five riders competing in each of the three challenges.

On day 1, teams will contest The Hammer Sprint which is basically like track cycling's points race. Each team's five riders race 10 laps of approximately 10 kilometres, with points awarded for the top 10 riders at the end of each lap with double points awarded on certain laps.

Bonus time gaps awarded per position after day 1 will count towards the starting time gaps for the Hammer Chase, so every point won by each member of the team can make the difference.

Day 2 is the Hammer Climb, which is similar to the Hammer Sprint, only it's a multi-lap hill climb.

The final day is the Hammer Chase - a 50km team time trial with a staggered start dependent on how each team performed the preceding two days. The second team out of the gate starts 30 seconds down, the third, 25 seconds, the fourth 20 seconds, with 15 seconds gaps for the remaining teams. Whichever team crosses the line first secures the Hammer Race victory. 

The teams racing in the Hammer Series are: Bahrain–Merida, BMC, Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, Cannondale - Drapac, Israel Cycling Academy, Lotto Soudal, LottoNL Jumbo, Movistar, NIPPO Vini Fantini, Orica Scott, Quick-Step Floors, Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij, Sky, Sunweb, Trek – Segafredo and UAE Team Emirates.

More details about the race can be found here