• Australia's Tracey Hannah continues to lead the World Cup overall. (Rob Jones)Source: Rob Jones
There were both new and familiar faces on the top step of the podium for the third round of the UCI Downhill World Cup on Sunday in Leogang, Austria.
Cycling Central
13 Jun 2017 - 8:28 AM  UPDATED 13 Jun 2017 - 9:05 AM

New was British rider Tahnee Seagrave (Transition Bikes/FMD Factory), taking the first World Cup win of her career in elite women. Familiar was Aaron Gwin (The YT Mob), winning for the third consecutive time in the elite men.

Leogang is the site of the 2012 world championships. It is a very steep and fast course, where taking the best line and being aerodynamic can be as important as pedaling strength.

The elite women's field is still missing world champion and defending World Cup champion Rachel Atherton (Trek Factory) of Great Britain, who dislocated her shoulder a week earlier during Round 2 training and is still recovering. 

This opened the door to fellow Brit Seagrave, beating Round 2 winner Tracey Hannah (Polygon UR), the Australian champion. Hannah still leads the overall standings, with 635 points, followed by Seagrave - who jumps from fifth in the overall standings - with 504 points. Myriam Nicole (Commencal/Vallnord), who was third, is now also third in the standings with 500 points.

Elite men's defending World Cup champion Aaron Gwin clearly likes Leogang. With four riders to go, Loris Vergier (Santa Cruz Syndicate) smashed the leading time by nearly three seconds. Australia's Troy Brosnan (Canyon Factory) was next, slotting in behind Vergier by 1.8sec. 

Round 2 winner Greg Minnaar (Santa Cruz Syndicate), the second fastest qualifier, could not beat his team-mate but bumped Brosnan down a spot, so it was down to Gwin, looking for his first win of the 2017 season. The American took the lead on the opening split and rode to a 1.435sec victory, the 17th of his career, tying him with the legendary Steve Peat and three behind all-time leader Minnaar. 

Minnaar still leads the overall standings with 472 points, while Gwin has moved into second at 434 points. The top Australian in the standings is Jack Moir (Intense Factory), 11th in Leogang) but third in the overall standings with 349 points.

In the junior categories, world champion and Round 1 winner Finnley Iles (Specialized) won the men's competition, ahead of Round 2 winner Matt Walker (Madison Saracen). Iles continues to lead the overall standings, with 160 points to Walker's 100.

In the junior women, it was Latvia's Paula Zibasa who took the win, followed by Round 1 winner Melanie Chappaz (Dorval AM Nicolai). Chappaz continues to lead with 140 points, followed by Flora Lesoin of France at 70.