• Michael Matthews won the Green jersey for Team Sunweb last year, but happily flew the flag on the podium in Paris. (Getty)Source: Getty
2017 Tour de France green jersey winner and 2015 road race silver medallist Michael Matthews will spearhead the Australian Cycling Team at the 2017 UCI Road World Championships in Bergen, Norway.
Cycling Central

Cycling Australia
5 Sep 2017 - 10:46 AM  UPDATED 5 Sep 2017 - 10:47 AM

The selection also includes Mathew Hayman, Luke Durbridge, Simon Clarke, Jack Haig, Rohan Dennis (TT only), Rory Sutherland, Mitchell Docker and Jay McCarthy.and in a surprise call up, 2015 road national champion Heinrich Haussler, who has been injured for almost a year and only just returned to racing was named.

The surprise inclusion in the elite men's squad is 2015 road national champion Heinrich Haussler, who has been recovering from injury for the majority of 2017 and only just returned to racing.

The 2017 UCI Road World Championships will be held in Bergen, Norway from 16-24 September and will be broadcast on SBS Viceland and streamed online.

The women’s team will carry five riders and not the seven allowed and will feature reigning national time trial and road race champion Katrin Garfoot who will contest both disciplines having won time trial bronze a year ago.

Dual national champions Gracie Elvin and Amanda Spratt, Sarah Roy and Shara Gillow returning to round out the five-member women’s team.

“These selections are all made with performance perspectives in mind,” said high-performance director Simon Jones. “We have good chances in both the elite men's and women races.

“The men's team is focused on providing Michael Matthews 100 per cent commitment in the road race and we believe we have prioritised selections to ensure the best possible outcome on race day.

“Also in the time trial, I'm looking forward to seeing how Rohan and Katrin perform, as they are both strong contenders who are no doubt hungry for success.

“In the women's selections, the selected riders have proved themselves throughout 2017 and we are confident they will be in the mix to get near the podium."

The five-rider, under 23 team includes Lucas Hamilton, Jai Hindley, Michael Storer and Robert Stannard and Callum Scotson who will contest both the time trial and the road race.

Madeleine Fasnacht, Sebastian Berwick, and Mitchell Wright, who will each contest the road race and time trial in the under 19 events.