• Rohan Dennis on course. (Supplied)
Rohan Dennis (BMC) won the conclusive individual time trial of Tirreno-Adriatico for the second year running and bettered his performance from 2017 by four seconds on the same 10km course.
Cycling Central


Dennis posted the best provisional best time at the intermediate checkpoint before closing out the 10km out and back course with an average speed of 53.412km/h to stop the clock in a time of 11min 14sec.

He then stayed put as the rider in the hot seat to beat Jos van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) by four seconds with Jonathan Castroviejo (Sky) another four in arrears.

"I was looking at the best times on this course and thinking 'ok what do I need to aim for? I knew I needed to try and go faster than last year to win and I was right because Jos Van Emden did the same time that I did last year," Dennis said.

"So, if I hadn't beaten my time he would have won. I'm just happy I won today. It is a good confidence boost going forward."

The overall victory went to Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky) who fended off Damiano Caruso (BMC) and his Sky team-mate Geraint Thomas.

“I was very nervous when I was warming up because it was raining," Kwiatkowski said. "I was scared that something would go wrong and I’d have to go a bit slower in the corners. But I had good feelings and that’s how I could finish it off so well.

"Tirreno-Adriatico is the most important stage win in my career so far. This is a beautiful race with a beautiful trophy. It’s also one of the hardest stage races to win.

"It’s been a difficult week for Team Sky. We had some bad luck with Geraint Thomas but, at the end of the day, we were really motivated to have a very good race. We did it.

"The trident trophy gives me a wonderful feeling. I’m confident in Team Sky to support me to try and win Milan-Sanremo again on Saturday.”

Jacopo Mosca (Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia) won the points classification while the king of the mountains was Nicola Bagioli (Nippo-Vini Fantini-Europa Ovini) and Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal) emerged as the best young rider.