• (L-R) Sonny Co0lbrelli, Tim Wellens and Tiesj Benoot. (Getty)Source: Getty
Tim Wellens won the Brabantse Pijl one-day classic in Belgium on Wednesday after launching a late solo attack to beat defending champion Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) and Lotto Soudal team-mate Tiesj Benoot.
Cycling Cental

12 Apr 2018 - 8:38 AM  UPDATED 12 Apr 2018 - 8:52 AM

“The past years I learned to choose the best moment to attack. Today that was with 7.8 kilometres to go and that meant that I needed to go full gas for about ten minutes," Wellens said. "That went really well, I had super legs."

A minute's silence was observed before the start of the race in memory of Vérandas Willems–Crelan's Michael Goolaerts who died following a heart attack during Sunday's Paris-Roubaix and as Wellens crossed the finish he raised his finger towards the sky, in honour of the fallen rider.

Michael Goolaerts dies after Paris-Roubaix cardiac arrest
Vérandas Willems-Crelan Pro Cycling Team has announced the death of young rider Michael Goolaerts after Sunday's Paris-Roubaix.

“Of course we talk about what happened with Michael Goolaerts, in the peloton and in the team," Wellens said. "It was a very serene atmosphere at the start. There are teammates of mine that have raced with Michael. I know his teammates Sean De Bie and Zico Waeytens very well. They go through a difficult time and I try to support them.”

The race got started with an eight-rider break which contained Australian Calvin Watson (Aqua Blue Sport) but by the time the race hit the finishing circuits in Overijse the escape was over after an attack by another Australian, Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott) who, along with Tosh van der Sande (Lotto Soudal), completely erased the advantage with less than 30km to go.

Haig and van der Sande then held a minor margin into the last lap before Lotto-Soudal engineered the winning selection which contained Wellens who then soloed to the finish.

Marta Bastianelli (Ale Cipollini) won the women's Brabantse Pijl, out-sprinting Leah Kirchmann (Sunweb) and Marianne Vos (WaowDeals).