• Rigoberto Uran earlier this year in Colombia with Lawson Craddock (Getty)Source: Getty
Rigoberto Uran retuns to racing for a strong EF Education First at the upcoming Tour of California. Watch the action live with your brekky from 8am AEST Monday 13 May on SBS VICELAND and streaming via SBS On Demand.
Cycling Central

EF Education First Pro Cycling
10 May 2019 - 12:54 PM  UPDATED 10 May 2019 - 1:27 PM

The Colombian, who crashed out of Paris-Nice in March with a broken collarbone, will co-lead the team with 2013 Tour of California winner Tejay van Garderen, forming an imposing alliance across seven stages and 1,251km of racing.

Lawson Craddock, Alex Howes, Taylor Phinney, Sergio Higuita and Lachlan Morton will ride in support of the pair.

“Mt. Baldy will provide the most fireworks,” van Garderen said. “The day before we race Baldy, stage five going into Ventura passes right by my second home in Los Olivos, and it’s always exciting to be on home roads."

The race marks the WorldTour debut of new Colombian signing Sergio Higuita. 

“I’m so excited to debut at the Tour of California," the 21-year-old said. "I look forward to working for guys like Rigo and Tejay,” he said. “I looked up to them when I was younger, so to be able to ride alongside them is a big motivation for me to give my best.”

It is also the first race Morton has teamed up with Uran. But the Aussie won't let the Colombian's serious contender status get in the way of fun in the USA.  

"With the calibre of the team we’re bringing to California, I’ll be working for the big boys,” he said. "I’ve never raced with Rigo, and I’m excited to work for a champion of his calibre."

"Cycling is a young and exciting sport in the USA,” the former Jelly Belly rider said. “It’s not about tradition. It’s about having a good time.

“The crowds are always amazing. Better than the majority of races we do in Europe." 

How to watch the 2019 Tour of California:

Tune in for some California dreamin live on SBS VICELAND or streaming via the SBS On Demand app and our site. 

Monday 13 May
Stage 1 
0800-1100 AEST

Tuesday 14 May
Stage 2 
0600-0900 AEST

Wednesday 15 May
Stage 3 
0600-0900 AEST

Thursday 16 May
Stage 4 
0600-0900 AEST

Friday 17 May
Stage 5 
0600-0900 AEST

Saturday 18 May
Stage 6 
0600-0900 AEST

Sunday 19 May
Stage 7 
0500-0700 AEST