• Watch the key mountain stages from the 2018 La Vuelta a Espana to get you through the lack of racing (Getty)Source: Getty
In 2018, Australian registered squad Mitchelton-Scott raised a grand tour trophy in the air for the first time ever. Watch how history and the key mountain stages of the 2018 La Vuelta a Espana unfolded.
4 May 2020 - 4:17 PM  UPDATED 7 May 2020 - 9:55 AM

Stage 13 - Candas to La Camperona

Featuring gradients of 24 per cent on the final stretch of the summit of the La Camperona mountain, this stage saw a debut winner, while Nairo Quintana finished the best of the GC hopefuls as the overall battle tightened. 

Stage 14 - Cistierna to Les Prares de Nava

The achingly grippy Alto Les Praeres couldn't foil a perfectly timed attack from the stage winner who moved back into the race lead. 

Stage 15 - Ribera de Arriba to Lakes of Covadonga

Watch a Frenchman unleash a blistering onslaught and demonstrate some of the form he would go on to display at the 2019 Tour de France before a heartbreaking injury forced his exit.

Meanwhile, the race leader extends his lead with his own arsenal of explosive assaults. 

Stage 19 - Lledida to Naturlandia

A second stage victory for this mountain goat as the race leader tightens his grip on the red jersey. 

Stage 20 - Escaldes-Engordany to Coll de la Gallina

A Spaniard conquered Coll de La Gallina, improving his place on GC, but it looks like a Brit is about to help make Australian cycling history.

Three Aussie stage wins from the 2018 La Vuelta a Espana we've thrown in for good measure 

Stage 1 and 16 - individual time trials

The man now in the time trial rainbow bands had to settle for two outstanding victories in the green and gold before heading to the World Championships. 

Stage 5 - A long-time Aussie fave finally gets his grand tour victory