• Annemiek van Vleuten celebrates her 2019 Giro Rosa victory. (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
The Giro Rosa organisers have revealed the nine stages set for this year's edition of the prestigious women's race running from September 11-19.
SBS Cycling Central

13 Aug 2020 - 1:17 PM 

The Giro Rosa will take a more prominent position within the 2020 calendar than recent years, with the race commonly referred to as the women's Grand Tour one of only two stage races on the UCI Women's WorldTour calendar after the postponement of the season.

The course looks set to suit puncheurs, with a number of stages finishing on sharp uphill inclines as well as numerous climbs throughout stages set to provide good points for attackers to launch their bid for glory.

Stage 1: 16km - Grosseto to Grosseto

The Giro Rosa will begin with a team time trial in Grosseto, Tuscany. It's a flat 16km course and an opportunity for the stronger teams to eke out an advantage, though the time gaps will likely be quite small.

Stage 2: 125 km - Civitella Paganico to Arcidosso

The route offers very few flat sections and includes two stretches of gravel located at Cinigiano, which starts at 14.5km and ends at 16km, and then Seggiano, which starts at 108.9km and ends at 113.1km.

Stage 3: 142 km - Santa Fiora to Assisi

A punchy finish will be the focus after negoitiating the early climbs in this long stage to Assisi.

Stage 4: 170 km - Assisi to Tivoli

The longest stage of this year's Giro Rosa, and also in recent memory, as the stage clocks in at 10 kilometres more than the UCI recommended maximum for a stage race. A tough, hilly stage that finishes with a sharp climb into Tivoli.

Stage 5: 110 km - Terracina to Terracina

The beautiful seaside town of Terracina will offer a stunning backdrop as the riders briefly head inland before returning back to the coast.

Stage 6: 98 km - Toree del Greco to Nola

Arguably the most straightforward stage of the whole race, but plenty of riders that can't win in the mountains will be looking to attack and steal the thunder from the sprinters.

Stage 7: 113 km - Nola to Maddaloni

The action really gets interesting once the peloton arrives at Caserta at the 82-kilometre mark where they start the climb to Sanctuary of San Michele Arcangelo, a steep 6km ascent. The riders will tackle this climb twice before descending into Maddaloni.

Stage 8: 92 km - Castelnuovo della Daunia to San Marco la Catola

The final climb has a section of 4.5 kiolmetres at 7.1 per cent before flattening out for the final run to the line. Pure climbers will need to make their presence felt early on.

Stage 9: 110 km - Motta Montecorvino to Motta Montecorvino


Up and down all day with the laps of the Volturino, a relatively steady climb that will test the riders more with the attrition of all the racing beforehand.

SBS will have a daily highlights show during the Giro Rosa, airing daily from 4.30 pm September 12-20.