• Sarah Gigante will join Team Movistar in 2022 (John Veage/Cycling Australia)Source: John Veage/Cycling Australia
There's been plenty of movement on world cycling's biggest stage, with a number of Australians set to compete in new colours, return for another round or step away from the sport altogether in 2022.
SBS Cycling Central

4 Nov - 2:09 PM  UPDATED 4 Nov - 2:20 PM

As it did in 2020, the coronavirus pandemic left its mark on the WorldTour races this year, though it appears to be for the very last time.

The Australian contingent will now look to 2022 with renewed optimism as the cycling calendar expands to include new events like the Tour de France Femmes.

SBS secures exclusive Tour de France Femmes free-to-air rights in historic four-year deal
SBS will broadcast the women's Tour de France - the Tour de France Femmes avec Zwift - LIVE, FREE and EXCLUSIVE on free-to-air, beginning in 2022.

Australians in the Women's World Tour


Tiffany Cromwell (Canyon–SRAM)

Lauretta Hanson (Trek–Segafredo)


Grace Brown (from Team BikeExchange to FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope)

Sarah Gigante (from Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank to Movistar Team)

Rachel Neylan (from Parkhotel Valkenburg to Cofidis Féminin)

Ruby Roseman-Gannon (ARA Pro Racing Sunshine Coast to Team BikeExchange)

Sarah Roy (from Team BikeExchange to Canyon–SRAM)

Georgia Baker (to Team BikeExchange)

Alexandra Manly (to Team BikeExchange)




Lucy Kennedy

Lauren Kitchen

Kennedy retires for good after 19-day turnaround for Women's Tour
Lucy Kennedy has called time on her career yet again after previously reneging in order to help Team BikeExchange compete at The Women’s Tour.


Without 2022 contracts (2021 team in brackets):

Neve Bradbury (Canyon-SRAM)

Jessica Allen (Team BikeExchange)


Gigante excited to join Movistar on 'rare' deal
Young Australian sensation Sarah Gigante will be embarking on a new, and hopefully luckier journey in 2022 when she returns to cycling, after signing a three-year deal with Movistar.

Australians in the Men's World Tour


Caleb Ewan (Lotto–Soudal)

Chris Hamilton (Team DSM)

Chris Harper (Team Jumbo–Visma)

Ben O'Connor (AG2R Citroën Team)

Miles Scotson (Groupama–FDJ)

Jay Vine (Alpecin–Fenix)

Cameron Wurf (Ineos Grenadiers)



Rohan Dennis (from Ineos Grenadiers to Team Jumbo–Visma)

Jarrad Drizners (from Hagens Berman Axeon to Lotto–Soudal)

Jai Hindley (from Team DSM to Bora–Hansgrohe)

Taj Jones (from Israel Cycling Academy to Israel Start-Up Nation)

Kelland O'Brien (Inform TMX MAKE to Team BikeExchange)

Luke Plapp (Inform TMX MAKE to Ineos Grenadiers)

Robert Stannard (from Team BikeExchange to Alpecin–Fenix)

Michael Storer (from Team DSM to Groupama–FDJ)

Dennis battles to bronze in Olympic time trial
Australian Rohan Dennis ran into some stiff competition in Primož Roglič (Slovenia) and Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands) but still managed to take home the bronze medal at the conclusion of the 44.2 kilometre Olympic men's time trial finishing on the Fuji International Speedway.



Mitchell Docker


Without 2022 contracts (2021 team in brackets):

James Whelan (EF-Nippo)

Nathan Haas (Cofidis)

Kaden Groves (Team BikeExchange)

Michael Hepburn (Team BikeExchange)

Robert Power (Qhubeka-Nexthash)

Dylan Sunderland (Qhubeka-Nexthash)

Alexander Evans (Intermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux)

Lachlan Morton (EF-Nippo)


How to watch cycling LIVE on SBS
Your guide to all the LIVE cycling coming up on SBS, SBS VICELAND and SBS On Demand.