With Australian coffers in the elite men's road race category full to overflowing with talent, it would be an understatement to say that this year's team will be the toughest to select .
7 Apr 2015 - 11:32 PM  UPDATED 13 Apr 2015 - 3:37 PM

But we said that
last year too and the year before and still produced medals despite some
controversy about the final team, particularly the exclusion of Robbie McEwen.

while the selection process looks tough on paper it also appears that
with this much talent on tap it would be almost impossible to make a
mistake - just name the team and let them run amok in Denmark.

Of the SBS crew Mike Tomalaris was the first to jump to the keyboard with his short team selection - choosing Baden Cooke, Simon Gerrans, Matthew Goss, Leigh Howard, Heinrich Haussler, Matthew Hayman, Michael Matthews, Stuart O'Grady and Mark Renshaw for the road race. I wonder if he's changed his mind much in the intervening weeks?

Me? I like Stuart O'Grady, Simon Gerrans, Matt Goss, Heinrich Haussler, Mathew Hayman , Mark Renshaw, Adam Hansen, Chris Sutton and Baden Cooke for the road race, with Richie Porte and Cameron Meyer shouldering the time-trial duties.

the selectors sharpening their pencils I though I'd ask our field of
experts and keen watchers of the road scene to do the same ahead of the
imminent Australian team announcement.

To refresh your memory here is the list the selectors are working off and below that the picks from our team of experts.

Long Team - Elite Men:

1. Jack Bobridge (Garmin-Cervelo) TT, 2. Baden Cooke (Saxo Bank-Sungard) RR, 3. Simon Gerrans (Sky) RR, 4. Matthew Goss (HTC-Highroad) RR, 5. Adam Hansen (Omega Pharma-Lotto) RR, 6. Heinrich Haussler (Garmin-Cervelo) RR, 7. Mathew Hayman (Sky) RR, 8. Leigh Howard (HTC-Highroad) RR, 9. Michael Matthews (Rabobank) RR, 10. Robbie McEwen (RadioShack) RR, 11. Cameron Meyer (Garmin-Cervelo) TT, 12. Stuart O'Grady (Leopard Trek) RR, 13. Richie Porte (Saxo Bank-Sungard) TT, 14. Mark Renshaw (HTC-Highroad) RR, 15. Rory Sutherland (United Healthcare) RR, 16. Chris Sutton (Sky) RR, 17. Simon Clarke (Astana) RR, 18. Michael Rogers (Sky) TT, RR.


David McKenzie (SBS Cycling analyst)

Stuart O'Grady, Simon Gerrans, Simon Clarke, Chris Sutton, Heinrich Haussler, Matt Goss, Adam Hansen, Leigh Howard, Mark Renshaw.

Matt Keenan (SBS and ASO commentator)

Matt Goss, Simon Gerrans, Chris Sutton, Stuart O'Grady, Mathew Hayman, Mark Renshaw, Adam Hansen, Simon Clarke, Baden Cooke, Richie Porte (TT), Cameron Meyer (TT).

Anthony Tan (Cycling Journalist)

Matt Goss, Robbie McEwenm Simon Gerrans, Chris Sutton, Matthew Hayman, Mark Renshaw, Heinrich Haussler, Adam Hansen, Stuart O'Grady, Richie Porte (TT), Cameron Meyer (TT).

Scott McGrory (SBS and Fox Sports cycling analyst)

Matt Goss, Chris Sutton, Stuart O'Grady, Richie Porte, Simon Gerrans, Michael Rogers, Robbie McEwen, Heinrich Haussler, Matthew Hayman, Richie Porte (TT), Michael Rogers (TT).

Rob Arnold (Publisher RIDE Media)

Matt Goss, Simon Gerrans, Leigh Howard, Michael Matthews, Stuart O'Grady, Mark Renshaw, Chris Sutton, Heinrich Haussler, Adam Hansen, Richie Porte (TT), Jack Bobridge (TT).

Wade Wallace (Cycling Tips Blog)

Baden Cooke, Simon Gerrans, Matt Goss, Adam Hansen, Heinrich Haussler, Matthew Hayman, Stuart O'Grady, Mark Renshaw, CJ Sutton.

Stuart Randall (SBS Tour de France Producer)

Matt Goss, Simon Gerrans, Matthew Hayman, Baden Cooke, Stuart O'Grady, Mark Renshaw, Michael Rogers, Michael Matthews, Simon Clarke, Richie Porte (TT) Cameron Meyer (TT).

What would your inner selector do?

The UCI Road World Championships will be streamed LIVE on Cycling Central. See our schedule below (all times AEST).

Monday 19 September

2100-0130 U23 Men TT

Tuesday 20 September

2200-0115 Elite Women TT

Wednesday 21 September

2130-0100 Elite Men TT

Friday 23 September

2130-0115 U23 Men Road

Saturday 24 September
2130-0115 Elite Women Road (TV 2320-0115 SBS TWO)

Sunday 25 September
2130-0115 Elite Men Road (TV 2310-0115 SBS ONE)