Like the men's race the women's Flèche Wallonne will be defined by the finish on the Mur de Huy, which the peloton will tackle twice on the 121km route. At 1.3km long and with an average gradient of 9.6 per cent, the climb is one to suit a punchy rider, just like defending champion Pauline Ferrand-Prévot.
22 Apr 2015 - 11:15 AM  UPDATED 23 Apr 2015 - 12:01 AM
Thursday 23 Apr 2015

The 18th edition of the women's Flèche Wallonne has been won by Anna Van Der Breggen (Rabo Liv). She finished ahead of Annemiek Van Vleuten (Bigla) and Megan Guarnier (Boels Dolmans). Van Der Breggen's team-mate, World Champion and 2014 winner of the race, Pauline Ferrand-Prevot finished 8th.

Lotto-Soudal's Carlee Taylor was the first of the Australians home, crossing the line in 16th place, 1min 27sec back.

@carleetaylor1: Me riding the front up the Mur today. What a climb! The crowds make you want to go faster...but the 20% gradient inhibits it. Felt good. Pity I crested first one lap too early tho. Finished 16th. Thanks for the photo @anton_vos

La Fleche Wallonne Feminine: 121km, Huy
1 Anna Van Der Breggen (NED) Rabo Liv Women 3hr 18min 46sec    
2 Annemiek Van Vleuten (NED) Bigla 0:00:12    
3 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans 0:00:20    
4 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Bigla 0:00:32    
5 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (POL) Rabo Liv Women 0:00:40    
6 Evelyn Stevens (USA) Boels Dolmans 0:00:44    
7 Roxane Knetemann (NED) Rabo Liv Women 0:00:46    
8 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (FRA) Rabo Liv Women 0:00:57    
9 Alena Amialiusik (BLR) Veloci -SRAM 0:01:07    
10 Emma Johansson (SWE) Orica-AIS   

Wednesday 22 Apr 2015

“When a rider wants to win the Fleche Wallone, I think she needs to be powerful, have a great team behind them, patient and also have luck on their side that day. When I won in 2012 I really tried to time my finish correctly and was thrilled when it worked. I think the race now will be even harder before the Huy, which might make a smaller group going into the Wall, but I think the Huy will still be a huge factor in the race win. It will be exciting to see what happens on Wednesday.”

Stevens will be supported by 2014 runner-up, Lizzie Armitstead, Ellen van Dijk, Megan Guarnier, Demi de Jong and Christine Majerus.

Rabo Liv
1 Pauline Ferrand Prevot
2 Lucinda Brand
3 Shara Gillow
4 Roxanne Knetemann
5 Katarzyna Niewiadoma
6 Anna Van Der Breggen

The rest of the start list.


Orica-AIS will head into the  Flèche Wallonne with Swedish champion Emma Johansson as their protected rider.

“Emma will be our draw card rider. She had an disrupted build up to Flanders, but got through to her credit.  She has since had a little bit of a break and has put in a really good preparation leading into this race, except for the sickness on the weekend. We are confident she is going well and we are looking forward to seeing how she can go up the Mur de Huy on Wednesday afternoon.” - sports director Gene Bates.


Women's Tour of Flanders winner Elisa Longo Borghini will lead Wiggle Honda at Flèche Wallonne. The 23-year-old Italian has finished on the podium of both of the last two editions of the southern Belgian Classic and, after her victory in the Tour of Flanders earlier this month, will be one of the outstanding favourites. She will take the start alongside Belgian teammate Jolien D’hoore, who will proudly wear the World Cup Leader’s Jersey in the second of her country’s events in the classification.

The team:

Mara Abbott (USA), Audrey Cordon-Ragot (FRA), Jolien D’hoore (BEL), Mayuko Hagiwara (JPN), Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA), Anna Sanchis (ESP)