Team Sunweb has finalised its squad for the 2019 season. The German-registered team will race with a distinct Australian flavour in 2019, with four of its members coming from Down Under.

Tom Dumoulin retains top billing within the squad and will likely aim his season at the Grand Tours again in 2019, but there will be plenty of opportunities for Michael Matthews throughout the season.

The Australian star is expected to again target the classics with a return to targeting the green jersey at the Tour de France as yet uncertain.

The 25-rider squad is brimming with young talent, prominently featuring four Australian youngsters in either their second or third years as World Tour riders. Chris Hamilton, Michael Storer and Jai Hindley were all present at Sunweb last season, with Hindley in particular shining at the tail-end of the 2018 season. 

They have been joined by Robert Power, formerly of Mitchelton-Scott, who spent his first season recovering from a rare diagnosis of Bone Marrow Oedema Syndrome to come back to the sport at the top level, winning two races in 2018. 

Rob Power signs with Sunweb
Sunweb announced overnight its signing of young Aussie Rob Power to a two-year deal from 2019.

Full 2019 squad: Asbjørn Kragh Andersen (DEN), Søren Kragh Andersen (DEN), Nikias Arndt (GER), Jan Bakelants (BEL), Cees Bol (NED), Roy Curvers (NED), Tom Dumoulin (NED), Johannes Fröhlinger (GER), Chad Haga (USA), Chris Hamilton (AUS), Jai Hindley (AUS)Marc Hirschi (SWI), Lennard Kämna (GER), Max Kanter (GER), Wilco Kelderman (NED), Michael Matthews (AUS), Joris Nieuwenhuis (NED), Sam Oomen (NED), Casper Pedersen (DEN), Robert Power (AUS)Nicolas Roche (IRE), Michael Storer (AUS)Martijn Tusveld (NED), Louis Vervaeke (BEL), Max Walscheid (GER).

Tuesday 27 Nov 2018

The Tokyo 2020 Olympics plan to run a test event over most of the planned Olympics route, with the 173 kilometre route set to cover all aspects of the Olympics course except for part of the Mt Fuji loop. 

The riders will start out of Musashinonomori Park, with the hilly route taking the peloton to the foothills of Mt Fuji before the event finishes with three loops that conclude on the Fuji International Speedway.

The event will be run as a mens UCI 1.2 race on July 21, with the majority of riders expected to be formed into national teams looking to recce the course. 


The Passo di Gavia has been unveiled as the summit finish of the queen stage for the 2019 Giro Rosa, with the best climbers in the womens peloton set to fight it out for the maglia rosa on the 19 kilometre ascent, which rises at an average of 7.5 per cent.

Annemiek van Vleuten currently holds the Strava record for the climb, and will be looking to back up and defend her title from 2018, where she conquered the viciously steep climb of the Zoncolan enroute to a convincing victory.

The 2018 edition was van Vleuten's first win of the premier womens race, with Mitchelton-Scott teammate Amanda Spratt also becoming just the third Australian to wear the coveted pink jersey in the race's history.