If you haven't heard of Zwift by now you probably will by the time the Richmond 2015 UCI Road World Championships rolls around in September.

The makers of the virtual cycling world is engineering a online version of the Richmond, Virginia course and with the right set-up you will be able to ride the same course as the best cyclists in the world without leaving your man cave or lady lair.

The Richmond 2015 UCI World Cycling Championships course winds it way through various parts of downtown Richmond, including Virginia Commonwealth University. Students and faculty will have a front row seat to cycling’s pinnacle event with the race course running through and around its campuses. This photo is the virtual version of the campus with the riders racing under an overhead walkway joining two buildings. The virtual version of the course will be released in early September and everybody will get a chance to ride the course of cycling’s biggest one day race.

 SBS will broadcast and livestream the senior elite events of the 2015 UCI Road World Championships. The championships run from 19 - 27 September. Details to be announced shortly.

Monday 17 Aug 2015

Elisa Longo Borghini won the overall at the 2015 Route de France after her Wiggle Honda teammate Giorgia Bronzini sprinted to a final stage victory.

She finished 1min 10 sec ahead of Amber Neben (BePink-LaClassica) for the win with Claudia Lichtenberg (Liv-Plantur) another 8 seconds in arrears. 

Lotto-Soudal's Tim Wellens has defended his overall title at the ENECO Tour. The race is effectively a collection of mini-classics strung together to produce a stage race event for riders more suited to conditions usually seen in March of every year. 

Wellens came home safely for the win after BMC's Manuel Quinziato took the final stage. Second overall was the always reliable Greg Van Avermaet (BMC), while Wilco Kelderman (LottoNL-Jumbo) finished third.

Tim Wellens:

“It’s very nice to win the Eneco Tour of course. And not because the Tour de France wasn’t as good as expected. It’s just fantastic to win a one-week stage race, it pleases me a lot. I started in this race with some doubts, because I didn’t know how I would feel after the Tour. After the time trial I really had a good feeling and I knew for sure that the condition was good. The question was 'how is Tim going to perform after the Tour?' Well, the last days in that Tour I felt that my shape was improving, the choice to ride in the Clasicá San Sebastián appeared to be a good one. This week I confirmed this better shape.”

“This year’s victory is even more beautiful than the previous one I think. The first victory of the Eneco Tour was a bit unexpected, but to perform on a same level this year was much harder. Beforehand, I considered Greg Van Avermaet and Philippe Gilbert as the most important riders for the overall victory, they were really in a good shape. But yesterday I made the difference because I did a recon of that stage. That Côte de Saint-Roche appeared to be a key point and I was glad that I’d done the recon.”

“I have to thank the teammates for their work the previous days, they really did an amazing job. Everyone supported me very well. Greg Henderson, Marcel Sieberg and Stig Broeckx did a lot of work in the beginning of the stages. Afterwards Jens Debusschere, André Greipel and Tiesj Benoot did their work and they did it fantastic. I’m really thankful.”

General classification
1 Tim Wellens (BEL) Lotto-Soudal 26hr 31min 59sec
2 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC 0:00:59
3 Wilco Kelderman (NED) LottoNL-Jumbo 0:01:17
4 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) BMC 0:01:40
5 Fabio Felline (ITA) Trek Factory Racing 0:01:48
6 Andriy Grivko (UKR) Astana 0:01:54
7 Michael Rogers (AUS) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:02:02
8 Tiesj Benoot (BEL) Lotto Soudal 0:02:11
9 Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN) Tinkoff-Saxo
10 Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) Etixx-QuickStep

AG2R's Alexis Vuillermoz took an immediate liking to the roads of Rio, winning the 165km shortened test event ahead of the 2016 Olympic Games to be held in the Brazilian city.

"The French team had four riders out of seven in the last breakaway," Vuillermoz said. "Everybody attacked and it worked for me. Even if it’s not an UCI WorldTour event, it’s an important victory. It’s a course for climbers, with a stiff climb."

He finished ahead of Belgian Serge Pauwels and French team mate, Romain Bardet.


Bevin (Avanti Racing) won the final stage of the 565km five-day tour to finish 28 seconds ahead of Raphael Freienstein (Charter Mason Giant) and Michael Schweizer (African Wildlife Safaris), The New Zealander also extended his lead in the Subaru National Road Series individual standings to 21 points over Schweizer.


Danish utility rider Michael Mørkøv will leave Tinkoff-Saxo for Katusha at the end of the 2015 season.

Mørkøv, a former national road champion, has won a stage of the Tour of Denmark this year and has a Vuelta a Espana stage to his credit. He also excels on the track with a world title in the Madison to his name.

"After seven years in the same team (Saxo Bank, later Tinkoff-Saxo) it was time for me to move, Mørkøv said.

"I heard that Alexander Kristoff wanted to have me on the team. For many years I’ve dreamed of working for a pure sprinter.

"I am fast myself but not fast enough to win the big races. I want to be part of a winning team. I prefer to help a teammate win a big classic than to win a smaller race for myself. It was not hard to make this choice. Team Katusha was rocking this year. I have always been happy in my current team but now I am already looking forward to next season."


Troy Brosnan, Dan McConnell, Tracy Hannah and Rebecca Henderson will lead a 39-strong Australian team at the upcoming UCI Mountain Bike and Trials World Championships in Vallnord, Andorra.


Sam Hill, Connor Fearon, Dean Lucas, Troy Brosnan, Jack Moir, Mick Hannah, Jordan Prochyra, David McMillan, Tracey Hannah, Tegan Molloy, Jackson Frew, Remy Morton, Daniel Brooker, Andrew Crimmins, Joel Willis, Max Warshawsky, Harry Bush, Ellie Wale.

Cross Country:

Dan McConnell, Brendan Jonnston, Paul Van Der Ploeg, Cameron Ivory, Scott Bowden, Chris Hamilton, Ben Bradley, Reece Tucknott, Rebecca Henderson, Peta Mullens, Emily Parkes, Megan Williams, Liam Jefferies, Michael Potter, Bryan Dunkin, Callum Carson, Alex Lack, Liuke Brame.

Observed Trials:

Janine Jungfels, Nathan Mummery, Jack Mullaly.