Australian Simon Clarke will make his third Tour de France appearance when he lines up with Cannondale Drapac for the 1 July Grand Tour.

Clarke is a punchy and aggressive racer who can take leadership on the road while also looking out for his own chances.

He heads into the Tour with good form after placing 12th overall, and as the best placed Cannondale Drapac rider at the recent Critérium du Dauphiné, 4min 28sec behind the winner, Jakob Fuglsang (Astana).

"My top three Tour de France memories are: winning the team time trial in 2013, having the yellow jersey in the team for four days that same year.

"The following year, on stage 13 in 2014, it was my birthday, and I had been in the breakaway all day the day before. I had a really bad day. It was probably one of the hardest days I have ever had on the bike.

"This year? A successful Tour from a personal perspective would be winning a stage."

Kiwi Patrick Bevan is also in the squad, making his debut and completing his transition to the WorldTour.

"I want to leave a mark on the Tour," he said. "The team is very keen to animate the race, and I can’t wait to be part of that. At the end of three

"At the end of three weeks, I want some performances to be proud of, not just three weeks of holding on for dear life. I am genuinely excited about being part of the Tour.

"I was one of those kids up at 3am in New Zealand watching the Tour every July, completely captivated by it. You can’t shake those feelings and to cross that threshold and be on the other side is a privilege not many get to experience."

Joining Clarke and Bevin at the Tour are Alberto Bettiol, Nate Brown, Taylor Phinney, Pierre Rolland, Andrew Talansky, Rigoberto Uran and Dylan van Baarle.

Tuesday 27 Jun 2017

Wanty-Groupe Gobert heads to their first Tour de France with nine first-time starters after adding to its original short selection of seven riders.

Completing the squad are Andrea Pasqualon and New Zealander Dion Smith, who will head to Düsseldorf on 1 July for the Grand Départ.

"We had to choose between our three fastest riders and went with Andrea and Dion because of their ability to survive the climbs better," team boss Jean-François Bourlar said.

"There are a lot of stages suited for puncheurs and climbers this Tour. That was decisive."

The full squad is Frederik Backaert, Thomas Degand, Guillaume Martin, Marco Minnaard, Yoann Offredo, Andrea Pasqualon, Dion Smith, Guillaume Van Keirsbulck and Pieter Vanspeybrouck.

The Bahrain-Merida team will be making its Tour de France debut into Düsseldorf with opportunities open to all riders.

Lining up are Janez Brajkovič, Ondrej Cink, Yukiya Arashiro, Tsgabu Grmay, Ion Izagirre, Sonny Colbrelli, Borut Božič, Javier Moreno and Grega Bole.

Team director Philippe Mauduit said Colbrelli and Izagirre are like to feature more strongly, with the former hunting for sprint stages and the latter a high placing on the General Classification.

"It’s a challenge by itself, every day a classic during 21 days," Mauduit said. "We will take it day by day fixing new goals every day and of course, we will go with two leaders as some stages fit really well to Sonny Colbrelli and some others to Ion Izagirre.

"As some stages are designed for all-rounders, everyone will have the opportunity to jump on a breakaway and play his own role, but the most important is to increase our chances will be to keep the team spirit that our riders have always shown, ride and act as a unique united team, showing our colours in front of the race and fighting for the best possible result.”

Perhaps the most surprising inclusion is Czech Ondrej Cink, who will make his Tour debut in just his first season on the road after a lengthy mountain bike WorldCup career. 

The selection was forced after Kanstantsin Sivtsov Rumsas Navardauskas and Australian Heinrich Haussler were all ruled out due to illness or injury but Cink himself made the selection easier after finishing 19th overall at the Tour de Suisse.

The Movistar Team confirmed its nine-man lineup for the 104th edition of the Tour de France, starting Saturday with a 14km individual time trial in Düsseldorf (GER).

Nairo Quintana, Alejandro Valverde headline the teams 35th appearance in the French Grand Tour.

Nairo Quintana (COL) and Alejandro Valverde (ESP), the two riders whose spots were already secured at the shortlist offered two weeks ago, will be joined by Imanol Erviti, Jonathan Castroviejo, Jesús Herrada, Andrey Amador, Jasha Sütterlin, Daniele Bennati and Carlos Betancur.