With the Giro d'Italia only days away teams are finalising their line ups and announcing their goals as they prepare for the first Grand Tour of the year. This page will be updated when new team announcements are made.
6 May 2015 - 2:10 PM  UPDATED 7 May 2015 - 11:53 AM
Thursday 7 May 2015

Lotto-Soudal has multiple goals for the Giro d'Italia will the team targeting both stage victories and a strong general classification result.

Andre Greipel is one of few pure sprinters to line up for the Giro d'Italia and will be a tough rival for Orica-GreenEDGE's Michael Matthews.

The double stage winner will be supported by his faithful Kiwi lead-out man Greg Henderson.

Jurgen van den Broeck will lead the team's general classification goals with the target of a top 10 overall.

Adam Hansen is hoping to make history by completing his eleventh consecutive Grand Tour.

Belgium riders Stig Broeckx and Louis Vervaeke will make their Grand Tour debuts.

Hansen to scale new heights at the Giro d'Italia
Australian Adam Hansen will line up for the Giro d’Italia in support of Belgian Jurgen Van den Broeck and German André Greipel, who will be the protected riders for Lotto-Soudal.

Lotto-Soudal for the Giro d'Italia: Jurgen van den Broeck (BEL), Sander Armee (BEL), Lars Bak (DEN), Stig Broeckx (BEL), Andre Greipel (GER), Adam Hansen (AUS), Greg Henderson (NZL), Maxime Monfort (BEL), Louis Vervaeke (BEL).

Lampre-Merida have named its Giro d'Italia team which includes Italian Diego Ulissi who won two stages in the 2014 race.

Sacha Modolo will represent the team in the sprints with support from Roberto Ferrari while Przemyslaw Niemiec be the team's general classification option with the Pole finishing sixth in the 2013 Giro.

Ethiopian Tsgabu Grmay and China's Gang Xu will make their Grand Tour debuts.

Lampre-Merida for the Giro d'Italia: Roberto Ferrari (ITA), Tsgabu Grmay (ETH), Sacha Modolo (ITA), Manuele Mori (ITA), Przemyslaw Niemiec (POL), Jan Polanc (SLO), Maximiliano Richeze (ARG), Diego Ulissi (ITA) and Gang Xu (CHN).

Wednesday 6 May 2015

BMC Racing is hoping to claim the first Maglia Rosa of the Giro d'Italia with a strong performance in the opening team time trial.

The team will be riding for new signing Damiano Caruso who finished ninth in the Vuelta a Espana last year.

"This year, I have a big opportunity and the team has given me a big responsibility," Caruso said. "Last year, I did a good Vuelta and now I want to improve on that result in the Giro. I think I am realistic in wanting to be top 10, but in my heart, I hope to do better. This year, the Giro has a very hard start. The first five or six stages are very hard in Liguria and Toscana. It is very important to be ready from the start."

The squad also features stage winner Philippe Gilber, Darwin Atapuma and Brent Bookwalter.

BMC Racing for the 2015 Giro d'Italia: Darwin Atapuma (COL), Brent Bookwalter (USA), Marcus Burghardt (GER), Damiano Caruso (ITA), Silvan Dillier (SUI), Philippe Gilbert (BEL), Stefan Küng (SUI), Klaas Lodewyck (BEL), Rick Zabel (GER).

After finishing second in 2013 and 2014, Rigoberto Uran is hoping this is his year to stand on top of the Giro d'Italia podium.

The Colombian will have the full support of a balanced Etixx-QuickStep team for the 9-31 May race.

The squad includes Tom Boonen who is returning from injury, with the seasoned professional making his Giro d'Italia debut at 34 years old.

Etixx-QuickStep for the 2015 Giro d'Italia: Rigoberto Urán (COL), Tom Boonen (BEL), Maxime Bouet (FRA), Pieter Serry (BEL), Gianni Meersman (BEL), Fabio Sabatini (ITA), David De La Cruz (ESP), Iljo Keisse (BEL), and Petr Vakoc (CZE).

Strong Sky squad ready to support Porte
Richie Porte will have the experience of more than 20 editions of the Giro d'Italia to draw upon when he leads Team Sky in the first Grand Tour of the year.

Team Sky for the 2015 Giro d'Italia: Bernhard Eisel (AUT), Sebastian Henao (COL), Vasil Kiryienka (BEL), Leopold Konig (CZE), Mikel Nieve (ESP), Richie Porte (AUS), Salvatore Puccio (ITA), Kanstantsin Siutsou (BEL), Elia Viviani (ITA).

Without a designated leader for the Italian Grand Tour Katusha will focus on stage victories. The team includes a mix of youth and experience with recent Tour de Romandie winner Ilnur Zakarin and Anton Vorobyev both making their Grand Tour debut alongside 38-year-old Gent-Wevelgem winner Luca Paolini.

Katusha for the 2015 Giro d'Italia: Ilnur Zakarin (RUS), Luca Paolini (ITA), Maxim Belkov (RUS), Sergei Chernetckii (RUS), Pavel Kochetkov (RUS), Sergey Lagutin (RUS), Aleksandr Porsev (RUS), Yuri Trofimov (RUS) and Anton Vorobyev (RUS).

A strong Tinkoff-Saxo team has been assembled to support Alberto Contador in his attempt to win the Giro d'Italia.

The team, which features former Giro d'Italia winner Ivan Basso, will be captained by Australia's Michael Rogers.

Fresh Rogers ready to support Contador at the Giro d'Italia
Michael Rogers has been absent from the peloton for most of the season with the Australian opting for a training-focused build-up to the Giro d'Italia.

Contador content with form ahead of Giro
Alberto Contador is the only Tour de France contender who will be lining up at the start of the Giro d'Italia in San Lorenzo al Mare on 9 May.

Tinkoff-Saxo for the 2015 Giro d'Italia: Alberto Contador (ESP), Ivan Basso (ITA), Jesús Hernández (ESP), Christoper Juul-Jensen (DEN), Roman Kreuziger (CZE), Sérgio Paulinho (PRO), Michael Rogers (AUS), IVan Rovny (RUS), Matteo Tosatto.

Steven Kruijswijk will lead LottoNL-Jumbo in the Giro d'Italia with the Dutchman targeting a top 10 finish.

Moreno Hofland, who gained the team its first win of the season at last weekend's Tour de Yorkshire, will be the rider for the sprint finishes.

New Zealand's George Bennett will make his second Giro d'Italia appearance.

LottoNL-Jumbo for 2015 Giro d'Italia: George Bennett (NZL), Rick Flens (NED), Moreno Hofland (NED), Martijn Keizer (NED), Steven Kruijswijk (NED), Nick van der Lijke (NED), Bert-Jan Lindeman (NED), Maarten Tjallingii (NED) and Robert Wagner (GER).