Anna van der Breggen (RaboLiv) hit the repeat button to beat Boels Dolmans duo Evelyn Stevens and Megan Guarnier to claim the 19th edition of the women's Fleche Wallonne.

The Mur de Huy was again the decisive moment in the race with the first of two ascents helping to thin out the peloton before a final selection which left around 20 riders (including all the favourites) fighting for the spoils with 20 km to go.

The second was a showdown among the best riders on the day after Carmen Small (Cervélo) fired the first shot at the foot of Côte de Solières, when there were just two climbs left.

The American, fifth in Gent–Wevelgem, blasted onto Côte deCherrave, tearing what little was left of the peloton apart.

Small paid for her efforts and a group formed with the five strongest riders of the race: van der BreggenGuarnier, Stevens, Katarzyna Niewiadoma (RaboLiv) and Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5).

Eventually there were just two, with Van der Breggen and Stevens locked in battle on the slopes of the Mur de Huy.

Defending champion van derBreggen surged at the top of the climb and crossed the line with eight seconds to spare on Stevens and 22 on Guarnier.

Five-time winner Marianne Vos came in ninth, while reigning world champion Lizzie Armitstead finished in 28th place.

Friday 22 Apr 2016
Thursday 21 Apr 2016