Valentina Scandolora (Alé Cycling) and Ian Bibby (JLT Condor) stayed safe to claim their first Mitchelton Bay Criterium series overall titles as Jessica Allen (Orica Scott) and Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott) won the final of the three races. Watch the full replay above. 

Or a brief wrap here: 

Tuesday 3 Jan 2017

Caleb Ewan has set aside his race-one crash, winning the last round of the Bay Classic series.

Compatriot and fellow Orica-Scott rider Jessica Allen also showed she has strong form ahead of this week's road nationals in Ballarat by taking out the final women's round.

British rider Ian Bibby and Italian Valentina Scandolara finished fourth in their races to claim their first Mitchelton series titles.

Bibby is the first international rider to win the men's Bay Classic since Swiss Peter Stieger took out the inaugural series in 1989.

Scandolara is also only the second international winner of the women's series, after compatriot Georgia Bronzini three years ago.

Ewan outsprinted Bibby's JLT Condor teammate Brenton Jones to take out the last race.

Those two will be among the key riders in the men's elite race when the nationals start on Wednesday with the criteriums.

Ewan's hopes of a third-straight Bay Classic series title were cruelled when he crashed at the last corner while leading race one.

This is the third time he has won on the high-speed Williamstown circuit.

"Obviously coming into the last crit here without a win, it put a lot of pressure on this one, especially going into the nationals," Ewan said.

"It always helps for a sprinter to have that confidence going into a big race.

"I'm super-happy with how the team rode, they were perfect, and I'm really happy to get this win."

Allen joined fellow Australians Lucy Bechtel and Ellen Skerrit in a break that dominated the women's race.

While Bibby had a comfortable lead going into the last men's race, Scandolara only led Orica-Scott team leader Amanda Spratt by two points heading into their finals race.

The three-rider break played into Scandolara's hands perfectly, especially given Skerritt was one of her Alé teammates.

Scandolara won the bunch sprint for fourth place to confirm her series win, while Spratt finished eighth.

Allen replaced Spratt as second overall, three points behind the Italian.

Women’s final
1 Valentina Scandolara (Alé Cycling) 24 pts
2 Jessica Allen (Orica-Scott) 21
3 Amanda Spratt (Orica-Scott) 18
4 Yumi Kajihara (Novotel Geelong-Japan) 16
5 Sarah Roy (Orica-Scott) 14
6 Peta Mullens (Hagens Berman-Supermint) 13
7 Shannon Malseed 12
8 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Orica-Scott) 11
9 Lucy Bechtel (Specialized Women's Racing) 10
10 Jenelle Crooks (Orica-Scott) 10

Men’s final
1 Ian Bibby (JLT Condor) 29 pts
2 Mathew Gibson (JLT Condor) 24
3 Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott) 18
4 Brenton Jones (JLT Condor) 17
5 Anthony Giacoppo (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness) 16
6 Samuel Spokes (Total Rush) 14
7 Michael Hepburn (Orica-Scott) 12
8 Jesse Kerrison (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness) 10
9 Cameron Bayly (IsoWhey Sports SwissWellness) 9
10 Patrick Lane (VTWO Team) 5