Vegans are having a whole heap of fun after their dairy-free cheese came under fire from a disgruntled lover of the regular kind.
Standing in the refrigerated aisle of UK supermarket Sainsbury’s, the unnamed complainant couldn’t believe that a product made out of coconut could possibly bear the name ‘cheese’ and in a lengthy Facebook rant said: “CHEESE IS NOT MADE WITH COCONUTS. Call it Gary or something don’t call it Cheese because IT’S NOT CHEESE!!!!!”
Vegan Life magazine shared, and it snowballed.
Well, it seems like the name stuck, and a whole heap of vegans are now sitting down to 'Gary' and crackers and munching on 'Gary' toasties.
'Gary' has prompted so much chatter on social media over the past few days that it now has its own Facebook page and sparked no shortage of memes. Sainsbury’s have even taken up the term and are promoting their brand of 'Gary' online.