During the eight day festival of Passover, Jews are required to remove all chametz (leavened foods) from their possession. Chametz is the opposite to matzah, the unleavened bread, which is eaten during Passover to commemorate the emancipation of Israelite slaves in ancient Egypt. Ashkenazic Jews are also prohibited from eating foods considered kitniyot, such as legumes, rice, corn, soy and millet, during this religious celebration. Read more