Non-European immigration begins

Non-European immigration begins

Snowy Mountains Authority engineer, Guthega, 1952.
Image courtesy of National Archives of Australia
1 January, 1950

Immigration Minister Harold Holt makes a historic decision to allow 800 non-European war refugees to remain in Australia. Australia progressively enters into assisted migration schemes with various countries, including the Netherlands and Italy (1951), West Germany, Austria, Belgium, Greece and Spain (1952), and the United States, Switzerland, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland (1954).

> Next: Refugees and Japanese war brides accepted

- From the Museum of Australian Democracy's comprehensive interactive timeline, Milestones in Australian democracy.

Browse All Resources



Explore the stories and lives of dozens of remarkable immigrants -- and their descendants -- in this immersive interactive documentary about the building of multicultural Australia.